Why is it so addicting to play mmorpgs?

in #gaming5 years ago

There is just something about computer gaming that make it so fun and addicting. Have you ever wondered what it is that makes you get so attracted to games and especially online gaming; mmorpg's?

First mmorpg I played was, like for the majority of people; World of Warcraft.

The mysterious and massive online game that was and actually still is, the king of the online games.

It was just something about putting your first naked feet into the ground of Azeroth for the first time. A character that I had made with a different selection of hair colors, facial features and so on. A character that I had planned to discover the World of Warcraft with.

It felt scary, but I was also extremely curious aswell.

I ended up playing WoW for 6 years!!!! 6 Years of my life I had spend in a computer made fantasy world....

But why? Why did I make the choice to kill my free time inside a fake world?

the-player-760184_640.jpg
Source

I can name a few, but the biggest factor was and is; competition. People who enjoy their mmorpgs, also enjoy competition and also a bit of the wordEGO.

We want to brag and we want to compete. That's what makes online gaming so different from single player games.

(I will add, that this is my own opinion on this subject.)

But that is the two main factors. Other reasons is also reasons why you play single player rpg's, like for example Skyrim. You like to live into your character and pretend to be them. You like the feeling of exploring, gather materials, craft etc.
To play out a role in a fantasy world that is a bit similar to our own world, but you still want to be in control, you still want to be the hero, the one that people look up to.

Mmorpg's also test another part of you and it could be hard for some people and easier for others. And that is the social aspect of the game.

When I started to play WoW I was not only extremely bad in english, but also very very shy. I wasn't an outgoing person and hiding behind the screen didn't help that much either....at least not back then.

But with time I needed to open up and since I loved the game so much I also forced myself to be more social...by living into my character. It was easier to talk through my avatar thand expressing my real opinion. And over time, without even realizing it, I became more social by nature and it also helped me a lot in my real life.

So there is a lot much about mmorpg's that says so much about your personality, even if you don't think you know.

Learn about yourself and discover new gates.

/Elenya

Sort:  

Thank you for contributing to the Gaming Community on Steemit. You have been given an upvote by @steemgg. For more inspiration, visit our platform Steemgg, the first html5 gaming platform built on the Steem blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60695.64
ETH 2900.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53