My tale of playing Mega Man 1 for the first time - Elecman, Icemand and Fireman

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

OH MY GOD ELECMAN STAGE WAS HELL FROM THE GET GO. First there was this pixel perfect platforming which took me a while to get used to all on it's own, then the ladders, oh boy the ladders.


Part 1 - Part 2 - Part 3


You get hit once, you fall down one to three screens and you have to climb all the way up again while avoiding the exact same thing that will make you fail again and again. I thought climbing ranks in League of Legends was hard enough!

But oh boy was I lucky. Because I randomly decided to beat Gutsman first, I've managed to collect a hidden weapon I would have been forced to skip because it needs Gutsman's ability. Now I can shoot temporary platforms to my will. Pure bliss.

I couldn't even tell what Elecman's abilities were when I first ran into him, because I arrived at the boss room with just one hp bar. As soon as the fight started, I was dead. At least I had learnt to move to the left at the beginning.

So his weakness is Cutman's gun. It's the first one I tried so miraculously, I managed to beat him on the second go. Yay! It's time for Iceman. I hope this hedious movement friction won't be too bad.

20 minutes later

YES I FUCKING DID IT. IT TOOK ME NEARLY 15 MINUTES JUST FOR THIS TINY SECTION OF THE SCREEN. FUCK. Now I understand what @smjn meant with doing something to "keep my head from imploding". BUT OF COURSE, I FALL TO MY DEATH BECAUSE OF THIS SLIPPERY SNOWY BULLSHIT RIGHT AFTER.

After having a do-over twice (because I fell off the edge again), I get this screen on the moving platform enemy thingies:

Yep, I'll just do the whole level again. But I'll use the platform gun on these plataform enemies so I can skip them. I got the hang of the disappearing block parkour so I do it much quicker this time.

Iceman? What Iceman, was it that robot I hit three times with the gun I had on when walked in? Oh, I saw him shooting something, but I didn't really look at his face. Could have been Iceman, sure.

Fireman was the only boss left, but his stage was surprisingly easy. Compared to the rest of them, of course.I only had two game overs! I guess anything is easy after Iceman's stage, geezus. I knocked out Fireman using the ice gun. It didn't look like his weakness, but I just tanked him while gunning. That got me the kill on the first try, so whatever.

That's right! There's only Willy left now. I need a break. My head's imploding. It took me 30 minutes for the first 3 bosses, 40 minutes for the other 3 bosses, but hopefully Willy's stage won't take longer than that.

Sort:  

hahaha the disappearing platforms huh? hehe.

It was like a puzzle game. From when hell had frozen over.

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

Such a fun game. I like the music!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's unfair fun, but fun anyway, yeah! I liked some of the music, but a few of them were such a glaring short loop it ended up as just annoying. They were generally good, I think.

I'll send you a sbi share soon!

I was thinking of the music from mm2, way better than the original. Thanks for the SBI, unexpected surprise! Made my day!

Posted using Partiko Android

There is barely any OST in mm1 at all. I'll check out MM2 soon, after I finish Super Meat Boy. I have a post up about it. :)

You got a 1.81% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98