You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Review of City of Brass (Plus Design Reflections)

in #gaming5 years ago

I agree while I also disagree. Consequences for individual decidions surely give amazing rewards, even if in a frustrating way, but it's okya to deliver a linear game as long as it is entertaining. I love games that take me by the hand just as much as unique roguelikes.

Anything that doesn't force me to randomly wander around explore as part of progression and doesn't have turn based combat can be great for me, which just reiterates on "it's a matter of taste".

I might try this. The unique upgrades and items make it sound like fun.

Sort:  

I found it quite enjoyable, but I will say this about City of Brass: it caters to certain people.

There is a focus on exploration, but there's a relatively linear flow to things. I think it works really well because the action is fast enough and the rooms are varied enough that I never got bored.

I strongly recommend it to you, though. There think it has some broad scale design similarities to Wizard Slime, so it might be an interesting experience for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64143.01
ETH 3154.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86