Nantucket review by FreddyFish

in #gaming6 years ago

Nantucket review by FreddyFish

billede.png

Welcome to my review of Nantucket
Well, let's start with the positives - Its a lovely Game in case of art style and music. Sailing across the ocean while your crew sings a Chanty is magnificent. It has simple mechanics and controls, which are easy to understand and makes getting into the game fairly easy.

billede.png

But there are too many small things, that bother me, that I cant recommend this Game. In my opinion, the game feels unbalanced and to grind-heavy at the Moment. I'll make an example.

I still have the basic boat. Which is okay, because I like to earn better things. But here's one of the problems - I need around 3-4x my complete cargo hold in whale blubber to get even a slightly bigger ship, which doesn't have any more compartments (kitchen, workshop, etc). It's just slightly faster and a little bit bigger. Yes, that's nice, but that just means, I can store more blubber, but cant makes oil or gets cannons or something else. It's just a little bit bigger.

billede.png

And to get to that 3-4 times Cargo hold, you need to grind Whale fights. And boy, there are dreadful. You only have one attack, even if all three of your members have an attack dice rolled, it only counts one and then moves on to the enemy.
It pauses between turns to reveal the enemy cards (their attack/ defense action). Which are around 2-3 Seconds of nothing. And that every turn for up to three enemies. It just stretches the combat part to ages. And you need a lot of combat for just one full cargo hold.

billede.png

So.. after a while, I said - Screw it, let's explore. And that's nice, as mentioned before, the sailing around with the chanties (although they are quite rare), but then there are the random events (Like FTL has them). And they suck balls. I had so much food (300-500 Days worth), but I got a random encounter for "You have less food, the crew starts to fight" - Which either gives a negative trait to the Crew or lowers morale. And that happens a lot. One of my crewmembers basically had minus moral throughout the journey, with no chance of recovering.

billede.png

And there are more events, that just feels so unbalanced and harsh. Wasted food, water, rum, which just dropped your complete load to zero, which means you are in the middle of nowhere and suther huge penalties in morale. A lot of time, I was barely out of the harbor and needed to return, because a random event dropped one of my needs to (near) zero.

billede.png

TLDR;

  • Nice Artstyle
  • Great Music
  • Easy Controls
  • Grind-Heavy
  • Random Events seem unfair/unbalanced
  • Combat is really slow and dreadful

Where can I find/buy this game?

http://store.steampowered.com/app/621220/Nantucket/
http://www.picaresquestudio.com/
https://twitter.com/PicaresqueStd
https://www.facebook.com/picaresquestudio/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvGUnZUbFi3NDhtd_c3ueaw

Score

Overall I would give this game a 4/10.
billede.png
Do not buy this game until you see a major fix in the release notes. Or get it, test it and refund it within the 2h, if you encounter the same type of problems.
I really would like to love this game, but its so annoying sailing to (let's say) Honolulu and need to sail back to your harbor, because a random event stripped your rum to zero and the crews moral dropped to -15.

And that's it for Nantucket!

I really enjoyed making this review, and I have put a lot of work into this, so...!
Please leave a like and a follow if you liked my review of Nantucket.
Have a nice day, and I will hopefully see you in the future.

Best regards
FreddyFish

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62568.36
ETH 3010.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89