Batman Arkham Asylum review

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

()

I don't think he needs some big presentation, we have all heard of Batman , either from comic, movies or some of the animated series.
What makes Batman to a such a special superhero to me is that he has no powers, just a belt full of gadgets and an ability to adapt.

I was one of those fan boy kids who thought that batman could do anything.I've watched all the series, seen all the movies and I think I've played all the games, so when Arkham Asylum was released in August 2009 I feelt like a little boy on Christmas Eve.

Batman: Arkham Asylum starts with what you can guess is a "regular" night for Batman.
Batman has once again stoped the Joker's threats against Gotham City and is taking him to Arkham Asylum. already here, in the intro, you get the creepy feeling and a little smile, if you are a 90s kid, and the Joker's laughter is something everyone will recognize.

()
When they are back to the asylum, Batman has a gut feeling that something is wrong.
Why did Jokes give up so easily?
It doesn't take many minutes before the Batman notices that he he's been trapped in Arkham and that the inmates are running the asylum.

Not only are Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill back as Batman and the Joker , most of the original voice cast from the 1992 animated series are back for this game.
But So what do I think about the game?

To be honest there is so many things to love about the game. The story is full of twist and turns, and every time you think you figured Joker out, he throws a new surprise on you. Walking in Batmans shoes feels more natural then then any games before it, and the new combat system is wonderful. It can be a bit tricky to learn all the combos but all of batmans tools have a Quick button function that makes the fighting feel fluent (fluent) even when using them. The combo system and the slow-mo takedowns make you feel even more kick-ass.

208036ea-66f2-4ef3-bb8d-a483d75da974.jpg

If you feel like just kicking some ass there is a challenge mode. You unlock more Challenges playing through the story and even now, 9 years later, I'm going back from time to time just trying to get new highscores.

The voice acting is amazing, a blast from the past but with a darkness never before heard. Mark Hamill's laughter, dark humor and murderous threats, along with Kevin Conroy's "I'm batman" its the best thing ever.
Along with Batman and Joker we meet characters like Gordon and Riddler.
For anyone who likes to collect things, The Riddler Challenges is a dream. If you like to find them all, this 12 hour game can easyly take 20-23 hours; interview tapes, Riddler trophies and, yeah, riddles are hidden all over the game.
ACRiddlerTrophy.jpg

Although I can talk for several days about what I loved about the game, there are of course things I didn't like.

The environment feels a bit gray and boring. It's a bit better in the HD-release "Return to arkham"

batman-return-to-arkham-03.jpg but unfortunately, in my opinion, it's never quite good. Some times I hade some problems with the camera, it feels strange to control and sometimes it felt a bit slow .
Even if batman thinks a lot and is "the worlds greatest detective" he needs a certain pace and from time to time it feels like the pace just disappears.

One last thing and I know there are certainly people that don't agree with me, but I think the end was a bit overdramatic.
I think they were trying too hard.

Conclusion:
I love Batman: Arkham Asylum. It is an excellent game and I have and will recommend it to anyone who asks.

Batman: Arkham Asylum was developed by Rocksteady Studios and published by Eidos Interactive / Warner Bros. Interactive for the Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 and PC. Released August 25 (2009) for Xbox360 and PS3
The re-release Return to Arkham is available to on Playstation 4 and Xbox one.

Sort:  

I am a big fan of batman and this is a great review.

Thank you very much, it's my first serious review, so really happy with all the feedback I can get.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66845.00
ETH 3089.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72