2017: A good year for gaming

in #gaming6 years ago

Estimated reading time: 11 minutes. Contains ~2100 words. Calculated using Read-O-Meter.

Alright, so my recent blog posts have been rather dark and heavy. Discussing everything from the possibly grim future of technology to the loss of privacy, I realise that some people may want something easy to read and so to try and get into the festive spirit as well as it being the end of the year I thought I would reflect upon and make a timeline of all the great video game related stuff that came out this year. This isn't going to be a review of everything that comes up here, but really just a nice little overview to rap the gaming year up. I suppose that this is up-beat and nicely reflective of the year, and it will probably the last post of 2017 (unless I find something better to post) about so enjoy!

Disclaimer: Some sections about games will contain spoilers. Don't say I didn't warn you!


JANUARY


13th: Nintendo Switch


Nintendo-Switch-5

In January this year Nintendo released all the need-to-know details about the Nintendo Switch. Featuring a new way to play console games, it's safe to say that the Switch probably got there first in its field. I've yet to properly have a good go with a Switch, but from what I've heard it's good fun. The thing I like about the Switch is that it brings back the nostalgic way to play multiplayer, allowing connections of up to 8 players in some cases on the same console. I always loved playing locally with friends on the same console when I was younger and the fact that the Switch allows this is really nice. Kudos to you, Nintendo, for continuing to provide a fun group gaming experience!

24th: Resident Evil 7: Biohazard

Ohh, very scary!

One big horror game, Resident Evil 7 continues and also revitalizes the series as a whole. After 6, a lot of people believed that Capcom didn't have any steam left in them for the series and were struggling to keep the series going. This shows us different and this game leaves a lot of questions unanswered in the series. The Umbrella Corp. only show up once, at the very end of the game as you are being flown away to safety. Not a game I was able to play myself, but watching YouTubers play it, I found an interest into the whole series.


Feburary


10th: Bendy and the Ink Machine - Chapter One: Moving Pictures

The main man, Bendy!

Bendy and the Ink Machine's first chapter was released in February, and was a unique experience for many gamers, with the graphic desgined in such a way to be a throw back to the classic days of animation (much like Cuphead, more on that later). This is one I got to play myself, and while on a whole I didn't think the game was overly spooky, it does take an unexpected turn near the end. A game I would highly suggest playing if you get the chance (although I'm sure you have as a result of the disclaimer above, yeah that one about spoilers)

17th: Erik Wolpaw, writer of the Portal series, leaves Valve

This was news to me as I was writing this. After a long career at Valve, and writing stuff for Half-Life and Portal, Wolpaw decided to leave the company. I couldn't find any information as to why he left so it must have been for personal reasons or (obviously) reasons he did not which to disclose. I have no idea what he went on to do next, but I'm sure someone who has more time than I do can look into it and maybe tell everyone in the comments.

27th: Game Developers Conference @ San Francisco

No, I was not in attendance, but just as a nod to it as a developer myself I thought I would mention the GDC. I suppose this is an important event as a whole load of developers go to share ideas and increase the overall quality of the games we get. I wonder if Scott Cawthon was in attendance. Probably not...


March


3rd: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild


download (3).jpg

This game, I have no idea about. Never claimed to be a fan of The Legend of Zelda but from what I've heard it's a good game. And from the screenshots I've seen I have to say it does look impressive. If you want to know more about this game, I'm afraid you're gonna have to go do your own research into it.

22nd: Super Mario Run (for Android)

"Ugh, come on man! You're so obsessed with Mario! You did a whole article on him! Grow up!" Okay! Calm down! Yes, I suppose I am a little OTT with this franchise but just bare with me! The reason this is here is for two reasons:

  1. This is the first Mario game to be released officially by Nintendo on a device which is not one of their own (yes there were other games, but we don't talk about those...)
  2. As it was released onto Android, this marked the full roll out of this game.

This game is unlike other Mario games as this is an auto-running/auto-scrolling game but it has the same story as all the other ones, so you aren't really missing much (wait, have you never played a Mario game? Where do you live, under a rock?) I have played this one, and while it is a unique experience with the auto-scrolling, I can't say you are missing much if you don't play this. No offence Nintendo, but it really seemed that you were just trying to jump on the app bandwagon. Yeah, I get that more people us phones than your consoles but that's just how it is unless you were to bring out your own phone. Who knows? Maybe you will...

30th: Club Penguin was discontinued...


Ah, RIP Club Penguin. Perhaps not the best part of this year, none the less an important milestone. I shall say no more as I am not qualified to talk about it as alas I never got to play it!


April


28th: Mario Kart 8 Deluxe


download (4).jpg

Yes, another Mario entry, but hey does it hurt anybody? Not really. So I can put it in here if I want. Deluxe is a port if the original game to the Switch, but it adds some new (possibly game changing) features. These new features include: a third level of drift boost and 200cc. Not too bad if you ask me. This game also starts up faster than its original, most likely due to the fact that the Switch is just simply better hardware.


May


5th: Prey

May was a huge month for video games, but one game I want to draw particular attention to is Prey. This is mostly unrelated to the 2006 version of Prey by another studio, but this game was interesting none the less and kept me glued to the seat. While this was another one that I didn't get to play, and I can't remember much about it, I would suggest playing it if you have a good enough computer and the money to buy it. "Wait, how did it keep you glued to your seat but you didn't play it?" YouTube, I watched a "Let's Play" of it Have you seen my system specs?

15th (or there abouts): Project Brass


[caption width="469" id="attachment_734" align="aligncenter"]2017-05-22 12_38_58-Project Brass A VERY early screenshot of Brass[/caption]

Oh, wait, am I not allowed to put my own game as an entry? Oh well, I've done it anyway! Brass started with good intentions, but my imagination grew bigger than my computer was able to handle and thus I had to suspend the development of the game. Pity, it could have been good. Maybe when I get a better computer I can get back to work on it.


June


9th: Farming Simulator 18

Farming Simulator will never be a real game in my eyes...

30th: Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy

Not much to say about this one, this is just a re-release of the original Crash games for the PS4. I haven't played them (actually, tell a lie, I have played the first one. Just never finished it), but I think this game may have spawned the Crash WOW meme. Meh. No big deal. I'm sure someone cares about this, I do just not enough to give it the credit it's due.


July

Yeah, there were games released in this period of the year but none of them were big enough to reach my distant and rather deaf ear. So for the month of July I'm just gonna say no major game was released.


August


31st: Life is Strange: Before the Storm - Episode One

Ah, Life if Strange. A game about time travel and two friends. More a story based game than an actual video game in a sense, but none the less does not fail to tell a great tale. I wasn't actually aware that a prequel was released, but I'm sure that this one is as good as the original one. I only found out about this game while I was researching different games for this article. I was aware about this game, but didn't actually know it had been released as early as it was!


September


22nd: Doki Doki Literature Club

Screenshot (6)

This game is not as "cute" as it seems, as for anyone who has played this game will know that there are a hidden undertones that run themselves all throughout the game. If you have played it you will also know that it is absolutely not a dating simulator. While it is also not necessarily a game, but more of a graphic novel in which the choices you make ultimately mean nothing. The story is absolute heart wrenching and if you want to get the most out of the game you need to become emotionally invested. Sure, you can say that the visuals add to it but I think that it would be as equally as devastating as if it were just a standard book. In any case, this game isn't really for the faint heart (which is often driven home by the sober warning at the beginning of the game, both on first run and every sequential boot - up to a point).

I think the worst part about this is that you as an actual person believe that you think that you could do the right thing if you were in the situation of the protagonist, but because you are limited by the choices the game provides you with (which in the end don't matter, as I've said) the endings are just made worst.

If you are wondering: there is no happy ending to this game. Just Monika.

29th: Cuphead

Yeah, I haven't played this game. I know know nothing about it except it's a run and gun game. I haven't watched any play-troughs of it or anything but I know that it was a major release (probably riding on the back of Bendy and the Ink Machine's hype). Sorry Cuphead, you can't appeal to all the people all the time.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯


October


27th: Super Mario Odyssey


screenshot_21

Ah, yes, Mario Odyseey. Wait... Hang on... I've already wrote an extensive article about this game before its release. Yeah, I'm not revising this because I have nothing to add. I want to experience this game for myself and I have yet to do so.

27th: Assassin's Creed Origins


Assassins-Creed-Origins-Telecharger.jpg

I don't know much about the series, but I've added it here because, like Cuphead, I know that a lot of people waited in anticipation for this game. Here's to the honorary mention, I suppose.


November


3rd: Call of Duty: WWII


I can't say I'm a huge fan of this series, but I didn't want another month in which I didn't have an entry so like the previous two similar ones this is here as an honorary mention!


December


4th: Freddy Fazbear's Pizzeria Simulator


Possibly the final game in this series, Freddy Fazbear's Pizzeria Simulator this game is not what it seems to be at face value. At this time of writing this article (see below) this game is only two day's old with a lot of stuff to be discovered about it. An unexpected game none the less, FNaF 6 will be the final nail in the coffin for the theories.

8th: Hello Neighbour


helloneighbor-1024x576.jpg

This is a highly anticipated game but it is yet to be released at the time of writing. I have been following it's development since Alpha 1 and I can safely say that this is going to be one lore filled game, no doubt!


So, this concludes this years line up. What game was your favorite this year? What game would you have liked to have seen on the list? The comment section is waiting down below and I would love to have a discussion.

As a quick on the side: I'm aware that this article was released on the 21st of December, but I wrote this well in advance. I actually finished this on the 6th. That's why those last two games may not have added up, but hopefully this clears a few things up. Thanks for reading and I'll see you next year!


Want to download the game timeline seen as the cover image for this post? Here it is:

GhostCode's 2017 Game TimeLine.png

I don't own any of the characters shown in this timeline, except of course for GhostCode!


GhostCode

Sort:  

Undoubtedly a good year for gaming. What made it great in my opinion is the star wars: BF fiasco, which proved that the community wont take any of that corporate nonsense lightly and will hit back united against it.
Ignoring that its still a positive and eventful year which gave us so many great games.

I do support BF boycott wholeheartedly, but I do not understand why it worked the way it did only with BF since other companies like a gaming giant Blizzard is doing the same for years now with his games and none says a word... ?

It was indeed! The gaming community, while sometimes can get very salty (ahem LOL...) it is also a very great community that can come together and bring others with them. Hope next year is just as eventful!

I actually upvotted this for the "Read-O-Meter". That is a good piece of advise for my future long posts! Thank you!

On a side note, Doki Doki Literature Club is great! Liked how Monika "messed" with your PC and stuff!

Thanks, I recently decided to start putting that at the start of each article to let people know how long the thing is gonna be. I believe that it will increase reader retention if they know how long it will be before beginning so they don't get bored and start to wonder how long is left. Gald that I could give you a good idea!

For all those games I have always liked GTA and all it's versions. You have some good writing skills. I am following you!
By the way, we can stay in touch on steemit by following each other. Do check out my new post
https://steemit.com/writings/@timesedge/the-mission-part-1

Regards,
Ana

Thanks, really apprentice it. I'll be sure to follow you too. Haven't checked out your post yet but you can be sure to see my comment over there shortly!

Was just thinking actually, if your looking to reach out and have a proper contact my email is [email protected] (this is specifically for issues related to my software, but it'll give us a platform to privately initiate contact). Looking forward to hearing from you!

My favorite this year would have to be fortnite battle royale. Its been a good year for the industry though thats for sure.

Hey, thanks for your comment! I'll admit that I probably missed a lot of big games that people liked in this article. Me, I don't get to play a lot of games and rather I hear about them in the news and watch play throughs of them. Apprentice the fact that you engaged with the post and told us your favourite.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71191.31
ETH 3811.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48