Apex Legends Season 2 brings everything the game was missing

in #gaming5 years ago

image.png

Issues of Season 1

I stopped playing Apex Legends when I got to the middle of Season 1's battle pass.
The game was fun but the devs did not really introduce any new features sometimes for over a month. My only goal was to level up my battle pass to get rewards but it felt kind of grindy. Especially that the most XP rewarding activity was staying alive. The mentality of the game was like: "Doesn't matter what you do, just keep playing".
Not having a goal in the game made me get bored of it and when I did the maths and realized it was too late to reach max level of the battle pass I simply stopped playing.
I had no problem with the gameplay though.

Season 2 improvements

Season 2 pretty nicely overcame the problems mentioned above. Two major things play a role in those quality-of-life improvements.

Introducing ranked mode

Ranked brings infinite replayability to any game. You can improve until you become the very best and your progress is tracked with numbers. The ranked system in Apex Legends is new to me but I like it. The point of it is that on lower ranks it is easier to climb since you don't lose many points but it gets a lot harder for higher levels. You are mainly rewarded for kills and the placement of your team.
A kill is worth 1 RP (max 5 collectible in one game) and placement points can vary from 2RP (top 10) to 12RP (winner squad). You have to pay an entry fee before each match - 0/1/2/3/4/5 for bronze/silver/gold/platinum/diamond/Apex predator.
Bronze upranking is straight-up brainless spamming games. In gold, you have to be top10 every game or gather at least 2 kills to remain on the same level of points. In Diamond top5 or 4 kills. Also not only the requirements are higher but the skill of your opponents as well. So basically the challenge is doubled.
I like this system because lower rank players can find their success but higher-ranked players have to truly show their best to be able to stay on the top.
However, I have to note that I belong to the lower tiers which means I cannot really talk in the name of the better players :)

Quest system - daily/weekly challenges

The whole battle pass XP system got revamped. In Season 1 you could earn extra XP by playing various legends, not your main only.
Season 2 brought the quest system lots of players waited for.
Every day you get 3 quests which you can complete to get additional BP experience. There are around 200 variations so you probably won't get bored of them. These are usually simpler tasks like "Make 5 headshots with pistols" or "Execute an enemy with Mirage".
Also, we have weekly challenges which usually take more effort to complete but they might even reward you with a whole Battle Pass level. Some of them are stackable, meaning you can complete them multiple times with slightly different circumstances and get paid out for each level you finish.
The best thing about weekly quests is that they are not only for the week when they appear. If you had no time to complete them no problem, they will remain in your weekly quest list and you can complete them until the season lasts.
Leveling up your Battle Pass from your BP experience got reworked as well. The first level to earn costs 9000 XP and every further level increases this amount by another 9000, capping at 54000. This number, however, gets reset every week.
In this system it is more fun to grind out the Battle Pass rewards, also if you focus on quests I think it is also easier to max out the pass.
Yet I decided not to buy it, only at the end of the season maybe when I see what I would get for my money. This way I won't feel forced to play unless I want to miss out the rewards what I paid for.

The map got reworked as well, we got a new legend and a new gun, so in overall, the added content is pretty neat as well.
I might write a review later on about the in-game changes made to the game but this post mainly focused on the infrastructure of the second season.

Thanks for passing by!

Follow Upvote Resteem @goodguymate



Steem Gaming Community
ya6cczq3qa.png
OP Gaming


<I suggest Partiko if you are browsing from Android/iOS and would like to earn extra $>
<In case you like resource-managing games try Drugwars and earn crypto while playing it>

Header Image Source

Sort:  

🏆 Hi @goodguymate! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @steem12
Subscribe and increase the reward for @goodguymate :) | For investors.

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

Hey what's up man, I'm playing Apex every day now on Ranked mode. If you up to, let's make a team and play someday :)
My name on origin is lpessin

He-he, sure thing man :)
Unfortunately I don't have the time to play every day but yeah, we could team up sometimes for sure.
My ign is GoodGuyMate

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55