Have you heard of Steam?

in #gaming6 years ago

Have you heard of Steam?

First off, I'm not talking about Steemit. In this post, I will be looking at Steam, the most popular and successful games distribution software. And for those avid Steam users - did you know that there are other game distribution platforms?... Yea, shocker!

So for those of you who don't know as I already mentioned is a game distribution software/platform that provides all gamer's with the best and most popular games in one place. Most likely a bit ago Steam was just populated by 1 game. More on that in a second. Now, however, Steam is such an exclusive service that every game developer and their sister wants his game on Steam because of the sheer amount of registered and also active users on the platform.

Steam is indeed a free program, however, most of the games on there are not free, there are some free games, but only a few of them are worth your time to be honest(also my opinion). What's funny though, is that Steam doesn't house the most popular game in the world(by most popular I mean the one with the most registered/lifetime users) - League of Legends. I do not know why, but I guess Riot - the creators of loL do not need the help of Steam. I imagine that Riot makes even more money compared to the Steam platform. One thing I have to remind you is that Steam is not a company, Valve is the rightful owner of the platform/service/distribution software and when I said the Steam platform isn't making more money that Riot I meant the platform itself excluding Valve from the picture.

Don't get me wrong Steam is still making Valve millions. So how did this come to be? I'd say it was because of a game called Half-Life. Steam is basically Valve's platform and it was created because Valve was beginning to work on more games, so that's why they needed a platform where gamers can have access to all of their games in one place. Most people don't even know that there are other game distribution platforms out there. Or maybe they just don't know which one of them specifies as a distribution platform. Well to put it quite simply, a game distribution platform is a service that either sells or put's up for download more that one game. And why people think that Steam is the only one is because it is unique. Steam is one of the only ones that provide games from other game makers as well. To be honest the only platform that is similar to Steam that I can name off the top of my head is Origin. Aaaanyway, most of these distributors only sell or keep their own games in one place and don't add any other ones.

Let's, for example, look at a currently popular game distribution software called... Epic Games Launcher. In it, you can find and download, or buy all your favorite games from the Epic Games company, and only Epic Games. Same as the Blizzard - Battle.net launcher- only Blizzard games... that's it!

Do you get my point?
Steam is more popular than these because it is more diverse and different.
I know I'm a genius, thank me later.
@HISIR

Sort:  

Nice one, good explanation, nice research you did. Thank you for shearing.

It's what I do.

Who didn't hear about Steam? it's THE go place for PC gamers (though it's not the only place.)

This post is surprisingly very good... I never thought I'll find new information (I didn't, but the information I think obscure is here like some other companies and their relation to steam.) It's well written and organized.

I know I'm a genius, thank me later.

Oh, okay...? Thanks!!

XD No problem! Yea a few of these posts are me just talking about what I know, on some I do my information, but yea...

I love steam Ive spent wayyyy too many hours on it's games 😂 can you check out my blog please, I'll give yours an up vote

Sure I'll check it out.

You got a 19.27% upvote from @minnowfairy courtesy of @hisir!

If you are starting to wonder which is better Epic Games vs Steam. If you are interested in this topic, I highly recommend this post: https://gamerseo.com/blog/epic-games-vs-steam-which-is-the-best-gaming-store/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64