Rust - Pros & Cons

in #gaming5 years ago

Rust


image

Look at me I'm a rich boy playing the Rust.
Be amazed at my skill to force my parents to buy me equipment.
Meanwhile, I'm here sitting in front of my 600$ computer wondering why on earth this game don't wanna run.

So I guess I'll start with the cons:

  1. Not well optimized for any type of computer. If you have ever played the game which I'm guessing you have - there is no system built to withstand the might of Rust, it's worse than... I actually don't know any other game that is less optimized than Rust, it's kinda funny since I was going to compare it to something in the first place. Either way, you get what I'm saying, so a head's up to anyone who doesn't have at least a gtx1080ti or like one of those R9 AMD graphics cards. Oh wait, nevermind, you also need AT LEAST an i7 or ryzen7 accompanied by a cool 16Gb of Ram. I would really like to know if they even hired someone to optimize the game because it just seems like that was left out altogether. Oh yes, I remember now, it's just as unoptimized as ARK, but even that has more potential.

  2. The launch screen, WHAT IS THAT, is this 1999 or something? Please, this is useless, there has to be a way to just shove this into the in-game options menu. Ok, ok I know this is not the only game that implements this garbage pre-game screen, but that does not change anything, it's still just annoying.

  3. LOADING. I don't care what kind of computer you have, but the loading process takes ages, well for me and my friends, I may have a somewhat cheap computer, but my friends have much better computers and yet they are still experiencing the infamous Loading screen of doom. Now I know that this is something you have to deal with in such a graphically intensive game, but there are much better-looking games with less than 30-second loading screens, come on facepunch.

  4. Major lag spikes. Now I'm serious, anybody who has ever played this game has encountered those nasty lag spikes, when you're trying to shoot someone with a bow, or being attacked by a bear. To be honest, I do now know what causes this, it may just refer back to the optimization problems, but I'm not the programming expert here.

  5. I can never get myself any further than a bow and hatchet, it's actually stupid.

Now, for the pros:

  1. The graphics are stunning when turned all the way up, granted I can not do that, but I've seen people who can and honestly the game is beautiful. Yes, this may have an impact on how it runs, and that sort of pisses me off because I'm not here to look at the amazing graphics all day, I'm here to enjoy the game with my friends, but sadly that is just not possible!

  2. They did good with crafting, it works like it's supposed to and I have no problem with it. One thing I would change is
    the crafting timers, but I guess they are there for a reason and that is to balance the game a little bit. Also, I'm a big fan of quick craft, that feature actually makes the game that much better, when I don't have to go into the crafting menu to whip up a quick bandage or door and stuff like that, I appreciate that.

  3. Loot isn't too overpowered unless you work for it and go through the puzzles to find the really good stuff. I wouldn't say that this game is forgiving at all, I'd actually say the exact opposite - it makes you work for it, seriously. I have been playing the game for 3 days straight and haven't gotten a single gun, it's ridiculous. But in a way, the grind makes the game that much more enjoyable. And if you think it's easy, just go and find materials and make a gun, let me tell you something - at times I have trouble finding enough cloth and wood to make a bow.

  4. Gunplay and fighting. What can I say it's not amazing but it also isn't bad, it is really buggy sometimes, but when it's not and when I get the kill it feels great. Obviously, this has been one of the main focuses of the game since the very beginning. Even though it seems to be good I can not hit a single shot with the bow. But I guess I can see how it is not too bad for people who can actually aim.

  5. It's fun when it's not boring.

Overall I enjoy the game, but I can't play it for more than an hour cause it's the same thing over and over again spawn, farm, die. And that's why I find a bit repetitive and even frustrating at times.

Just want to remind you that everything I mentioned is just my opinion, it's ok if you feel differently about the game, I'm not here to judge.

@Hisir

Sort:  

Hello @hisir! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @hisir! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61374.19
ETH 2885.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55