Frostpunk: Building the Last City on Earth

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

20180426141936_1.jpg

Winter is coming! First off, I've been playing games like Sim City and Cities: Skyline for as long as I've known how to move the mouse. Those games are more like chilled out metropolitan city simulators, so Frostpunk being a survival small city-builder set in an alternate Victorian-era universe stood out as I checked Steam's trending over the weekend. The blend of steampunk aesthetics over harsh blizzard looks both fitting and intriguing to say the least.

Developed by 11 bit studios, Frostpunk's premise is simple: winter doomsday is here, and you have to survive against all odds in a frozen hellhole, with nothing but a heat generator, a resource depot, and a small band of people to begin with. You are mankind's last hope.

20180426142450_1.jpg


Well-crafted, engaging gameplay.

The main currency of Frostpunk is heat. The lack of it will cause sickness. However, resources are limited so it's impossible to provide the highest level of warmth all around the city so you'd have to prioritise. Improperly managed, the entire city could spiral into death from civil unrest and the lack of manpower, amongst various other elements. For heat to sustain the community, a continuous supply of coal is required. The other equally important resources that needs to be taken of are wood, metal, and food.

20180426183156_1.jpg

Building out radially from the core of the heat generator, you will need to do some city-planning and micromanage resource pipelines in order to achieve outcomes that are less worse than the next. Yes, it's always desperate times in Frostpunk, so you'd most likely pause the game to make hard decisions every couple of minutes.

20180430020650_1.jpg

But that's not all, the game also pits you into sometimes ethically-challenging lawmaking decisions to keep your society ahead of the worsening blizzard. Add sawdust into food rations to make people feel less hungry? Make the children work? Only save the healthy folks and kill off the critically-conditioned? Focus on order and discipline, or faith and spirituality? Do we allow doomsayers and dissenters going all around town shaking up the mood of your city? 24-hour emergency shifts with no heater on? There is definitely a plethora of interesting conundrums worth discovering as the game unfolds.


A great audiovisual treat.

Frostpunk looks and sounds stunning with all its smoke, snow, wind, and ratchet-like contraptions. Just put it up on a big pair of speakers and screen. The heightened sense of immersion is unmistakable. The city is also well simulated: everybody can be tracked and observed going about their daily routines in winterland, even as they slowly trudge through the freezing, thick snow to salvage resources at the periphery.

20180428132043_1.jpg

The orchestral soundtrack is phenomenal as well. It builds up with intensity in each passing day as "the big one" approaches to plunge your entire city into total panic and disarray. It's magnificent. Feel the plight and hardship in your bones.

20180430001911_1.jpg

I also felt really cold during my entire playthrough, so I'm going to call Frostpunk an extreme winter mood simulator as well. This goes to show that small teams can pull off something that matches triple-A titles as long as the game is constrained and its design, well-reasoned. Kudos 11 bit studios. I hope you guys consider making future iterations in the vein of Solarpunk.


Final verdict.

This comes highly recommended. It's only available for PC at the moment on Steam, GOG, and Humblebundle. The game has already sold 250,000 copies during the first three days and the developers have expressed that they'll continue to improve and expand on the canon. Always happy to see indie developers getting recognised for their great work!

As always, thanks for reading. Stay frosty! ❄️

20180430063957_1.jpg


All images are in-game screenshots during my playthrough.

Sort:  

First of all, that Frost Punk logo is sickkkkk!!))
And also trying not to play too much before my exams end lol (Before they end me).

Your comment section is epic, pro gamers everywhere ;) I'm also very pleasantly surprised by Frostpunk, nothing like a good Steampunk game. City building, immersion, resource management, keeping everyone alive, child workers. On my trial run most people died, the ones that survived banished me from the city, I smiled, this game will punish you for your mistakes. I only fear it won't keep me playing for too long after seeing everything unlocked.

They're expanding the scenarios, so I think it's alright. Lemme know your # of survivors when you've finished it!

Number of survivors 91, humanity lives on :)

ah that's pretty harsh lol.. 645 here :D

Last few days of the storm I ran out of coal, people started dying like crazy, discontent was at 99% when the storm stopped, It was a very last minute win :)

end.png

An excellent game, was pleasantly surprised by gameplay and game mood, played a bit with moonwalker, you can not stop playing, played until two in the morning.
I recommend the game, Thanks Kevin very good review.

There are a lot of online games nowadays but I like those strategic games that need some analytical skills to win the battle.

The like of sim city is my second choice of game but this one is so entertaining also.

Wow, looks super cool. Love the fact that it includes challenging lawmaking decisions. Can't wait to play!

Game looks great! I've personally never played it, nor even heard of it but just seeing that Steemit's gaming community is evolving and growing makes me happy! I hope that someday I'll be able to post my Hearthstone/League of Legends related comments and actually get real readers/upvotes/comments rather than just "nice post!"

Thanks for promoting the gaming community here on Steemit!

We just need a community function!

@kevinwong I've made a post about this!!!
I legit posted an article proposing the function to add things like subreddits onto Steemit. This would definitely help increase certain areas popularity and help reduce the clutter on the trending and stuff. I feel like tags simply aren't working that well and we need something extra. If you're interested, I can try dig out my old post!

Nice game - sounds like a mash of hardcore survival game with city building. I love city building games myself, so I will definitely have a look. It feels like a pretty heavy game though. Is there an endgame or is the goal just to increase population as much as you can?

Yup there's an endgame :) i wont spoil it for you

Except for keeping your society alive, and trying to grow, can you also play multiplayer and go to war etc ? Or is this focused solely on the construction of your own society ?

Nope, it's strictly singleplayer. Basically 30 days (or longer?) of building up to face the final boss lol

I have a PC and I'll try as much as possible to get this game but I am looking forward to a version which Mobile phones and tablets can support. These ones are more portable and you can carry them around everywhere. This is very necessary as FrostPunk looks like what I'd want to play everyday

Good point. I think they'll port it over if there's demand!

Hey hey, that's a hilarious description of yourself (playing games like sim city ever since you first used the mouse!) I'm not quite that level, but pretty close, among my first game memories are sim city 2000 and the like!

So this game actually seems really cool! The screenshots are modern and vivid and the game concept is cool (maybe downright cold?)

Kudos to the devs on making such an enhancement to the genre; I'll have to check it out when I can, super intrigued!

I'm now playing the other scenarios. what a gem, i think it's gonna become a classic.

Woah this game surely sounds amazing! I love strategy games and I haven't played anything good in a while. I've checked out some gameplay on Youtube and I already fell in love with this game... Hopefully it's going to be awesome when I play it :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70190.79
ETH 3740.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69