Repost: 6 Awesome Games of 2016

in #gaming4 years ago

While 2016 was a great year for video games, I certainly missed my fair share of them. Now here I am, in 2017, and I thought I would compile a small list of games I hope I’ll come back to play at some point or another, whether it be this year or in 5 years time. As for why I didn’t play them last year, most of it is attributed to my stinginess when it comes to getting new games, which sucks, but hopefully this year I’ll be able to loosen up and get some of them this time around.


Source

Hopefully in this post I can explain partially my rationale for not getting these games, and why I would like to play them eventually. Just keep in mind, I’m usually my own worst enemy when it comes to getting new games, something I have talked about before on this blog. Because of this some of these games, namely those at the top of the list, are games where the benefits of getting it vastly outweigh the cost, but I somehow convince myself every time not to get it. Effectively, shooting myself in the foot has been the inspiration for this post.

But enough ranting, without further ado, let’s jump into it:

6.) TITANFALL 2

The sequel to Respawn Entertainment’s FPS involving mechs, parkour, and fast paced action looks like an absolute blast. From what I’ve heard, it does everything that the first iteration did, but better and more of it. I played the first Titanfall and loved it, given that there seems no reason for me to not try this out, apart from maybe the lacking player base. Similar to the first game, the number of players on PC just isn’t that many from what I hear, which can make for long wait times for matches, and frustration, so if I’m going to get it, sooner rather than later might be the way to go.

5.) THE DIVISION

Like many people, when I first saw The Division at E3 2013, I was blown away. Admittedly, after playing the open beta months ago, I was disappointed when compared to what I saw at E3, but what I found was still a fun, open world, third person shooter, loot-fest game. However come the release of the game, I of course didn’t get it (hence why it is on this list), the initial problems (such as bullet sponge enemies and a broken end-game) and lack of changes from the beta kind of put me off getting it. However, in time, I may come back and buy it when it goes on sale, and see the result.

4.) GEARS OF WAR 4

I am a die hard Gears of War fan, Gears of War 2 was one of my favourite games ever, and I was kind of sad to miss this iteration of the franchise. To be honest, this game kind of slipped under the radar, and when it came out I was bogged down with life stuff, and I kinda just put it rest. Also it’s frigging expensive. While it’s a sucky reason to not get a game, it’s a pretty powerful one. So, you know, maybe chainsawing dudes will have to wait for another day.

3.) THE WITNESS

This was interesting game that caught my eye as a first person, explorative, puzzle solving game. While puzzle games definitely aren’t my first choice, I love a good puzzle game, and this struck me as something great. Something that always shines through in peoples’ opinions on this game is the experience of discovering all the hidden secrets the game has to offer. Also the game world looks gorgeous, and appeals to the explorer in me. As far as explaining why I didn’t buy it goes, I literally have no reasoning for not already having this game, and having just missed out on it in the Steam Winter Sale, this is high on my list of games to get.

2.) DOOM

I’m going to start out by saying, I have never played a Doom game, I missed out on that generation of gaming, although the impact the franchise has had on gaming in irrefutable. Focusing on this game in particular, after watching gameplay videos and reading reviews, it looks freaking awesome. The fast paced, first person shooter gore fest that is this game just melts my brain, and doesn’t seem a lot like anything I’ve played before, making all the more enticing. The temptation to pick this up and start getting glory kills against the demons of hell is real.

1.) INSIDE

Inside took me completely by surprise. When I saw a playthrough of it, I went into it having no idea what to expect. What I found myself thinking 2 minutes into watching this playthrough was “Oh my god I need to play this game”.Given that it topped this list, it’s no surprise I haven’t played it yet, and now that it’s 2017, I am sitting here stunned that I somehow haven’t summoned the strength to just up and buy it. From what I have seen, I feel drawn to the atmosphere of the game more than anything, the deep, hidden ideas and themes that lie beneath the surface of the game, and the experience of actually immersing yourself in the mysterious adventure of a child exploring a dark, dystopian world. Either way, Inside is a game I definitely regret not getting during the recent sale, and when I eventually do get it, I might even offer my personal take on it, delayed as my opinion might be 🙂

If you have played any of the above games, what can you say about it before I eventually play through it? Also, what games did you pass on in 2016 and hope to come back to? Let me know in the comments, and if you enjoyed reading this, drop a like and let me know if I should do more lists like this. Until the next post, stay beautiful 🙂

End note: Authored by Genesis & Locikll for Psilink Gaming & MediGamer Blogs, Redistributed, and edited for Steemit officially

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64215.81
ETH 3150.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86