HOW I WAS THREATENED WITH EXCOMMUNICATION FROM EVE ONLINE

in #gaming8 years ago (edited)

If you are not familiar with Eve Online it is a massive space game with its own in game currency called ISK, it has the price discovery mechanism and an economy inside the game that is probably more of a proper free market than the real world. So it is an interesting game but very demanding at the same time and it will pretty much destroy your real life if you let it.

So I was feeling guilty for spending so much time on this game and I said maybe there is something I can do as a Christian playing this game and share the Gospel and God’s Word. There is a piece of equipment in the game called a “Mobile Depot”. They are very hard to destroy in what is called “High Security Space” where they are protected from other players who try to blow them up by the in game space peace keepers. These “Mobile Depots” can be deployed in space and you can put a small text message on them and they last for 30 days in space they cost costed about 2 million ISK each.

So once I had enough ISK currency I got lots of these “Mobile Depots” and started deploying them in space in the shape of a “Giant Cross” with a scripture popping up on each “Mobile Depot”. There was back lash as expected from putting up Crosses in popular systems like Rens, Jita and a few others.

Other players would destroy bits of the Crosses and I’d rebuild them while trying not to get blown up myself. I got trolled and a bounty put on my character in the game but I did get some encouraging mail from other Christians in the game.

After a few weeks of this, my mobile depots were deleted by an administrator of the game without me being refunded for their value and I was warned my account would be suspended by the administrator if I continued. So it’s hard to escape censorship and political correctness even in online gaming but it was fun while it lasted. Maybe I should have kept going and made them actually kick me off the game but I was growing tired of playing it and I had other responsibilities to take care of. I’m sure most people would say that’s not what the game is for but if the game was supposed to be virtual world unto itself with it’s own currency, economy and culture etc… I later found out Eve Online even has a “Space Pope” shown at the top.

With all that going on. Why was this activity of mine singled out as off limits? Why because people hate hearing the Gospel and God’s Word because deep down inside they know it is true. I’ve found that hedonists that play games like Eve Online hate the Word of God probably more than any other group of people because it spoils their fun and they really don’t want to have a God and Creator that they would have to be accountable to. I like to have fun too and I enjoyed playing that game for a time myself and it doesn’t say in the Bible that you can’t have some fun as a Christian.

God doesn’t want to stop people having fun and make them miserable. It’s man-made versions of religion like Roman Catholicism that require people to be sin conscious and keep them on the treadmill of trying to earn their salvation through good works.

Ephesians 2:8 “For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God”

John 3:17 “For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.
18 He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.
19 And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil”.

So all you have to do is believe and like the thief on the cross who asked Jesus to remember him, you also will be in paradise with Him and it will be better than Eve Online.

Matthew 7:11 If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?

If you are already a Christian, I hope you will find this encouraging as there are loads of ways to be a Witness for the Gospel while having some fun.

Sort:  

Interesting post to say the least, interesting enough for me to follow you and keep tabs on your future pieces of writing. Keep it up.

Thanks I got a reminder my subscription was almost up I've 6 days left I hadn't played the game in months. May as well make those last few days count...

Apologies for the poor quality image the screen shot won't work on the laptop so have to do it with the phone camera. It's a mobile depot with the link to this article floating n space.

Can you move stars in Eve and place them so that you are looking at a constellation that looks like a cross potentially from only one hemisphere of a particular planet in a solar system on a rather indistinguishable spiral arm of a galaxy?

If you can't move stars around like that, then I call shenanigans.

Don't think you could unfortunately but it would be a great idea with the Revelation 12 sign in the heavens coming up 23rd September 2017. This article is talking about when that kind of thing last happened in 3BC.
https://steemit.com/astronomy/@gavvet/re-evaluating-the-star-of-bethlehem-part-4-the-sceptre-shall-not-depart-from-between-his-feet-until-shiloh-comes-featuring

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61