IBT Survival Island Game - Progress Report Four

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

 IBT Survival Island regular progress report 

Thanks to all those who upvoted the last update post - it certainly gave a well needed boost! and it means a lot.

While the $ amount may appear low, it's the Steem that counts! Steem will keep going up in price and its Steem I need to power up a community account for future prizes and benefits to the players. 

These updates will continue to be posted weekly if possible. All images here are  original and built from scratch for our new Steem SMT game.

""

The above image is in game concept art,  captured from the actual game being built - IBT Survival Island.

While building the open world is fun, the mechanics of the game are critical; allot of time continues to be spent working through issues with the character inventory.

This week has been slow going, my bro (whom is doing the heavy lifting programming) had to have some time off to go to the dentist ~ The poor bugger has some fillings which need work..ouch! feel better soon bro.

Still, the show must go on and even under the influence of strong pain killing medication work continued (now that's dedication for you).  Several more hurdles were overcome making it much more likely the game will be killer and come together as expected.

Setting up an inventory system is pretty hard, not only do we need to be able to pickup and collect items, but we need to keep count, stack and consume items in game -  all of which requires programming to deal with. 

Please remember this game is not being built by a team of professionals and we have limited but growing experience with UE4, so allot of time is being vested to learn how to do this stuff...that's allot of trial and error!

The above image is concept art from the actual game being built - IBT Survival Island.

This week I spent a bit of time capturing more sounds from the Aussie country side. I don't have professional sound editing software and trying to do this with quality opensource or freeware programs, so to start I've just been using my I Phone and Memo Recorder. I  made a start by editing these sound files, attempting to isolate background noise and prepare the key sounds for inputting into the game.

The free editing software I am currently experimenting with on the PC is called: Ocenaudio.

Here is a quick view of a Crow recording I made: unedited and non amplified.

Now here it is again with the crow nose isolated the sound amplified and the background noise removed.

While I can't play the sound for you, I'm moderately happy with the result, especially given it's my first attempt ever to edit sounds. I'd prefer some software that clearly showed different noises as waves that I could easily manipulate and delete, I'll do some hunting,  keep learning and will get this sound editing thing licked :)

How can you help?

  1. If you had a lucky week trading the crypto (I never do - I'm a hopeless investor), feel free to sponsor with some Steem   (Those who know me, know I am trust worthy - and you can clearly see  in  previous IBT on the block chain I've ensured 100's in Steem prizes  have  gone out fairly). Anything received I will put it in my savings  account  ready to move to the soon to be created community account.   Alternatively you can support via fundition here: https://steemit.com/en/@lordnigel/l6mjz3r5q
  2. This week people can help by sharing if you know of a good free sound editor for the PC and/or IPhone. Let me know in a comment below and I will check it out as I attempt to get the best quality ambient sounds for our game..

That's it for this weeks update, until next time take care and happy Steeming!

Any liquid Steem raised from upvotes from this post will be transferred to my savings account, which will be used as part of future   IBT Survival Island prizes (Either to power the community account or  for  direct transfer for Educational rewards in game). 

Sort:  

A lot, allot means distribute 😆 definitely some dedication on bro’s part, maybe it’s a handy distraction too 😆 hope he recovers quickly.

Game looks like it’s coming along nicely 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh thanks for kind messages for bro!

yeah he works hard on improving his game making skills :)..teeth pain is nearly as bad as back pain!

haha...Angry goat always picks on my broken English (there ya are all fixed)..years of quality public schooling right there!
Oh crap! that's right I didn't actually pass high school..haha

That looks really cool. I am playing Subnautica at the moment and it looks like it might have the same sort of feel to it.

Dsound.audio will allow you to upload and link sound files I think. It's been a while since I used it. It's Steem's version of Soundcloud.

Oh...will investigate. Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86