Game News - Free Games on Epic Games Store + A Top 5!

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

Hi Gamers,

Just highlighting the fact that the Epic Games store is giving away two games currently on their storefront. Before anyone starts: I get the drama with the Epic Games Store! Initially I was very cautious at my precious Steam neighbourhood being threatened by a company that made a 3 billion dollar profit off the back of the game Fortnite and is partly owned by Chinese giant Tencent. However without completion how is the gaming industry supposed to grow and evolve? If the Epic Games store does nothing for consumers then ultimately it will fail and market forces will dictate that. The fact Epic Games want to buy the consumer with free games due to their massive retained earnings is actually fine with me. Ultimately I would still prove resistant to leave the Steam platform as my main gaming platform. However saying this I quite happily avail of Origin, UPLAY and the Blizzard standalone services. I am quite happy in the short term to see how this Epic Games marketplace works out and you should be too! Steam is an amazing platform but they are also a profit making company and don't always have the developer and consumer interests at heart.

free-coffee-machine.jpg
I also have my eye on Rebel Galaxy Outlaw and cant wait to write some content of my experience on it. Now we have that out the way lets take a look at what Epic Games are throwing at us with their latest free games!

6VvuHGsoU2QD2aHbJiivbVZV6nAA4BJrX2xi1YbtwoaR6UKJaaaeh9LnK34qz4c55i46b29VKuVuVep6jyvy4t1zwV36xjH8ZkRACGeeYPSS5bxpUHbAZHCPbdqen2.png

Ruiner

header (41).jpg

RUINER is a brutal action shooter set in the year 2091 in the cyber metropolis Rengkok. A wired psychopath lashes out against a corrupt system to uncover the truth and retrieve his kidnapped brother under the guidance of a secretive hacker friend.

Nuclear Throne

header (42).jpg

Nuclear Throne is a post-apocalyptic roguelike-like top-down shooter. Not 'the final hope of humanity' post-apocalyptic, but 'humanity is extinct and mutants and monsters now roam the world' post-apocalyptic. Fight your way through the wastelands with powerful weaponry, collecting radiation to mutate some new

6VvuHGsoU2QD2aHbJiivbVZV6nAA4BJrX2xi1YbtwoaR6UKJaaaeh9LnK34qz4c55i46b29VKuVuVep6jyvy4t1zwV36xjH8ZkRACGeeYPSS5bxpUHbAZHCPbdqen2.png

My Top 5 Most Intriguing Games on the Epic Games Platform

download (11).jpg

1. Fortnite
I have actually started playing this and won my first match shortly after. Super addictive and a lot of fun, not sure why I didn't give this a go earlier! Easy to jump in and out of.

2. Rebel Galaxy: Outlaw
A fast and focused Sci-Fi that is priced quite well. Very excited to pick this up at some point and experience everything it has to offer.

3. The Outer Worlds
I don't know a lot about this game but from what ive heard its a Sci Fi epic which will be right up my street.

4. Borderlands 3
Just because Borderlands 2 is so much fun in co-op! I expect much of the same from the third game

5. Control
Excellent feedback and reviews on this game and I do like game with focused plots and objective. Looks great!

6VvuHGsoU2QD2aHbJiivbVZV6nAA4BJrX2xi1YbtwoaR6UKJaaaeh9LnK34qz4c55i46b29VKuVuVep6jyvy4t1zwV36xjH8ZkRACGeeYPSS5bxpUHbAZHCPbdqen2.png

So there we have it my little Epic Games Store round up for the day. Please let me know if you want more content from this platform and I will be happy to provide!

Lrev

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

While I don't like Epic Store that much, I think their idea of giving free games is very effective and I got bunch of games from them. My first impression posts about Hyper Light Drifter & Costume Quest are for games I recived for free from them.

What many people don't like is that they buy exclusivity rights from developers who are planning to release their games on Steam. That's disappointing even though I understand the reason and don't hold it against them. Steam too, needs competition to offer better services!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56