Marvel VS Capcom Infinite - Is it any good?

in #gaming6 years ago

A while ago I played Marvel VS Capcom - Infinite. I had played a little some of the other games from this series and they were nice, but after the Street Fighter V fiasco, did Capcom learn from that experience and did something good with this new game?

01.png

I'm an old school gamer and I'm a sucker for a nice story and as such, I will focus heavily in single player. I finished arcade mode and story mode, but I didn't even try online... Honestly, I don't play online that often and adding to that, lately some fighting games have been plagued by online playing issues with latency and I hate that.

03.jpg

In terms of graphics, I liked this game very much! I know that it's no technical prowess... There are fighting games that look much more artistic, but ultimately I find that somewhat distracting. If it has nice graphics and most of all, good playability, I know I will enjoy the game. Speaking of playability, getting some nice combos and supers is quite easy and that makes it easy to feel a certain satisfaction playing this game. The infinity stones are part of the game and can be used, adding a certain element of strategy. You play with teams of two (instead of three like previously) and can tag at any time, adding a further element of strategy also.

04.jpg

The story mode is long and challenging enough. The final boss is really challenging, as a final boss should be. It kind of reminded me X-Men VS Street Fighter (this was actually the first game from the Marvel VS Capcom series and I love it), but more challenging. The story revolves around the Infinity stones and I found it to be very nice as it hooked me up. I couldn't stop playing this game until I finished the story. I won't reveal more about the story because I don't want to spoil it for those that don't know it yet...

05.jpg

The roster is quite diverse (30 characters, not including DLC), with characters that play different from each other, but this whole DLC thing always lets me cringed... Why do companies make games that they know are incomplete in some way, charge a premium for the game, and a little bit later they release a small DLC with some characters that they purposely left out of the game (because there's always a fan favorite that will make you buy it and should be in the first place) and some skins, and charge for it again? They call it season pass... And they do it 2 or 3 times per game... If you buy it all, the game becomes quite expensive. Shouldn't DLCs be used to extend the "life" of a game? Also, I feel this game is lacking several key characters from previous Marvel VS Capcom games. On the Marvel side, for example, I think they focused too much on characters that are related with the recent blockbuster Hollywood movies. Just think of the Infinity stones... They have been present in recent Marvel movies and will eventually be the "centerpiece" for the new Avengers: Infinity War movie. So I can't help but think that this game was made to capitalize on it.

02.jpg

But please don't let this take you away from playing the game, because it really is a very good fighting game. I would even dare to say that Capcom has redeemed itself after Street Fighter V. As I told you before, I didn't play this game online, but people who have say that this is the best netcode Capcom as ever made! I think this game is the perfect example of a game that doesn't have stellar graphic but the gameplay is absolutely awesome, and that alone will provide many hours of fun playing it. Well done Capcom!!!

06.jpg

If you liked this, please upvote, comment, follow and subscribe my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/besg666/videos

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @madviking to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

@madviking, you just received an upvote powered by smartsteem. Our goal is to support quality posts and authors on steem.

Everyone is invited to be a part of and to join the smartsteem community: https://smartsteem.com

This post has received gratitude of 1.11 % from @appreciator thanks to: @madviking.

This post has received a 5.63 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @madviking

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Awesome! ^^

You got a 1.16% upvote from @upme requested by: @madviking.
Send at least 1 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Up and away! XD

This post has received a 0.89 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @madviking. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 4.84% vote... I was summoned by @madviking! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Ninja vanish!!! XD

This post has received a 5.06 % upvote from @upmyvote thanks to: @madviking. Send at least 1 SBD to @upmyvote with a post link in the memo field to promote a post! Sorry, we can't upvote comments.

Congratulations @madviking, this post is the seventh most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 3856 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1706.56. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Awesome! Thanks! ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82