My journey making games

in #gaming6 years ago

Hello guys, it's me Clement. I want to talk about my history with game development. Before I begin, lemme talk about games. Games are one of the best is not there best form of entertainment in the works of you ask me. E especially video games where you control a 3D character in a virtual environment doing things that are not even possible in real life. This creates a certain kind of joy that you can't get from playing. Talk more if party multiplayer games where you and your friends run around and shit each other. Enough of games. I think if you have ever played a decent game, the thought it creating your own game must have crossed your mind. Mine started after I played darkSector in a game center (a place where people play money to play games for a limited time). This game was so awesome that I paid more to keep on playing it. When I got home that day, I started thinking. I am paying money to play this game, can't I just create mine like that and start playing it. Back then I had a desktop PC. So my journey into the game industry started that day. I started drawing maps with no knowledge of programming, modeling, level design, texturing and other important skills that are needed in game development. I started going to cyber cafes ( where people pay money to browse the internet for a limited time), researching on how to create a game. Then I got a game maker called.... well game maker...yoyo game maker, and I started using. This engine was made for only 2D games, so I started searching for 3D game makers, then I found 3Drad. Damn this engine was so good then. It had examples that was so simple to use.
I started studying the examples, it was then that it came to my notice that I had to stay creating contents like 3D models for my games. So my search diverted to 3D content creators. Then I found Google sketch up, which was great then by my standard, you can directly draw in 3D with a virtual pencil. I learnt it, and started creating contents for game. I later found out that I had to learn programming in other to create decent game in 3Drad. 3drad was using Angel script, so I decided to learn angel script. It was a long process. I want contented with 3drad, so I continued going to the cafe to download more engines, I tried many but I still remained in 3drad because it was the easiest to use.
After one year of playing with 3drad and researching, it then I found the ultimate game engine called Unity. In my country internet was still a problem then, so I only read about Unity. I downloaded PDF, tried reading then and damn this engine is perfect. I went for a one year program that will enable me to gain admission into the university since I want that intelligent. There I stayed one year without a PC. finally I got admission into school, started one year again without PC, but constantly disturbing my mom for one. Finally she got me one. haha. I resumed, I got Blender, started learning how to create quality models. Download Unity, started creating games that I never finished, thanks to my scope being too big. Then I met a guy who had interest in game Dev, but the relationship was cut shit because I noticed that he had greedy intentions. I continued alone, and started freelancing... it paid for some time, all I did from them was to start learning many 3D applications like Maya, Blender, sculptris and others. Because i really wanted to work in the game industry, so I was learning as much as I could. This continued until I decided to focus on my own company.
Then my PC broke down (This was last week Wednesday), then I found out that it was a motherboard problem. Damn and I didn't save any money from my freelancing days. Damn.

What I learnt, focus on your goal and don't allow any other thing distract you. In the journey to success sacrifices and hard work is needed. So as for now, I am just trying to save money to get a PC. Once I get one, I will resume and with what I have learnt, I will do better.
Thank you very much for reading this article, I hope you learnt a thing or two. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65345.02
ETH 2944.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76