Nintendo 3DS, SNES Edition

in #gaming6 years ago

I was waiting and waiting for a virtual console on the Switch. If you're listening Nintendo, I will still buy a Switch as soon as you bring a virtual console for it. Anyway, while I waited I found out there's a perfectly good VC on the 3DS. All of the SNES games I loved when I was a kid are already there! Then last year Nintendo pushed me over the edge when they released what I believe to be the ultimate 3DS; the one that's painted to look like a little SNES.

It was too much for me to just sit by knowing it existed, so I bought it. At that point I'd kinda missed out on...well, about 20 years of Nintendo. I skipped the 64, cause every game on it looked horrible. Then I was too old, or too poor, or too busy for Nintendo for another 20 years. I had a lot of catching up to do, so I tried not to be too ambitious when buying games. This was my collection at the start.

This is how it looks from the back, opened all the way up. The perfect finishing touch would have been a working power light, but what do you do.

This is the front - the real reason I needed to buy it. The buttons are the same colour as a SNES control pad. Prior to this model, the only way to get the buttons in this colour scheme was to buy the smaller version. I'm old now, so I try to avoid small screens where possible.

So there you go. My little 3DS, with its fun and notalgic colour scheme :)
Anyone out there still playing their 3DS? What's your favourite game?

Sort:  

Hah, that's awesome I've just recently also got myself one like this and it's awesome that you can actually play all the awesome older games there!
I've actually been doing some "historical" gaming posts lately, covering noteworthy games released in certain years (just made two about 93 and 2000) and I can't really pinpoint a single game, but my favorite would probably be the Zelda and Pokemon series.

Having been out of gaming for so long, I was shocked at how good portable games are these days. It's almost like a stripped down PS2 in terms of graphics and sound quality. The games do lack a bit of scale though. The feel a bit "mini", but it'll do until I get a Switch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68