Shroud of the Avatar - Basics/Introduction

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)


Here's a little bit of game play and an explanation of the basics of Shroud of the Avatar. This is my first ever publicly shared video of anything, so expect lots of hedge words, awkward, silent pauses, background noises, key clicks, and breathing! The voice level is okay, but the game sounds are probably too quiet, I'll try to get a bit closer to normal in the future, but for now you might want to play some music or something to mask the background noise.

The game is a pay once, play forever style MMO, you can get a trial account and download the game here. If you get it and like it, you might want to download it through Steam, as Steam will keep it up-to-date with patches much more quickly than their stand-alone client does. At least, I had much better download speeds with Steam than their downloader.

In the video I make use of a trial account to cover some of the basics of the game. I cover some of the trial account limitations, I create a character, explain parts of the interface, skill gain and experience, questing, combat, and navigation. I cover a random smathering of topics as I encounter them and I hope it's a useful cross section of the basics because not all of it is immediately obvious.

I played the game in Linux and used an AVerMedia Live Gamer Portable to do the video capture, so I wasn't able to stream it live, but it did capture the game at much better quality than what FFMPEG would have been able to do given my meager system. After it finished, I had a huge 4GB file, that took hours for d.tube to receive only to tell me it didn't like that particular flavor of MPEG. Several renames and transcoding sessions later, and playing with different FFMPEG settings, I finally managed to get it.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07