You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Game review: Hollow Knight (Nintendo Switch)

in #gaming6 years ago

I absolutely loved the game! It was a perfect mix of what you would want from a Metroid/Castlevania and a Dark Souls game.

The music, atmosphere and artwork was also top notch!

I really need to revisit it now that the Team Cherry added the new content. :)

Sort:  

I couldn't tear myself away from it. On the Switch, it was so easy to grab it with the intent of playing for a few minutes...

30 minutes later and I'm still at it.

The game is just a stunning, beautiful experience and I loved every minute of it -- even when I was getting my ass kicked by relentless bosses or insane platforming sections.

That final boss sequence was stellar as well. :)

Did you happen to get the "true" ending and fight The Radiance? Because that fight kicked my ass more than a few times haha

Not yet. I beat the normal end boss but I have yet to go for the true ending.

If I had any complaints it would be that sometimes the game is too subtle or cryptic. Like unlocking the Grimm Troupe is practically hidden.

I had the exact same sentiments. And you can see it in a lot of the other reviews out there. You find yourself wandering around the world trying to find what you need to do next.

The fast travel points can alleviate some of that pain but when your goal (or your lost Geo) is in the middle of the map, it can be quite frustrating.

Once you acquire the dream gate, retrying hard bosses or areas is so much faster. I wish you could earn the dream gate earlier in the game. Trudging from a save point to a hard boss, like the Mantis Lords, gets tiresome if you find yourself needing 10+ tries at a hard boss to finally best it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59585.77
ETH 3002.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78