Here is why Dead Cells got boring for me.

in #gaming6 years ago

No, Random Directions is not the game of the month (I know how bad my upload schedule is, don't worry).

I admit we got off at a rough start - claiming a "part 1" doesn't produce a series automatically, it requires effort more than anything. But, I think it would best if we smaller.

Sorry,
Rahov


Now, back to something more interesting:

I'm sure some of you have heard about this game with the crazy fast-pace Metroidvanian style platforming.

Please consider looking into it:
https://store.steampowered.com/app/588650/Dead_Cells/

Look amazing, right?

shiny pixel art -
feels mechanically pleasing -

Large pool of content - ehhhhh, maybe?

Please be aware, the game is in early access and we should not expect the current stage of development to be the final product. However, as much as I loved the game in the first 10 hours, it does not feel satisfying to continue playing.

I have nothing against the devs here, they've done a wonderful job and continue to do so. The systems they've created feel dynamic. Each time you kill an enemy, it almost feels like its injecting visual adrenaline directly through my eyes into the brain. That being said, there are some flaws worth mentioning.

Here is what I think the issues are:

1. Random Weapons
At first, you see many unlockables, it becomes difficult to point out what brutal murdering tool to pick first, especially if you're a loot whore like me. However, unlocking additional items feels like a negative feedback loop.
You see, this game provides random weapons at the start of each run, the more weapons you have the harder it becomes to get a hold of the one you've gotten use to. A lot of the times, I end up playing a heavy hammer or a whip, but my playstyle is full of speed and momentum, which demands daggers or blades full of blood-soaked combos.

2. Power imbalance
Practically speaking, if you have the skills to kill the bad guys, you shouldn't have a problem right? Well... not quite.
There have been several times, where I was stuck with a low-class weapon and even died with it, primarily because I like how it handles and everything else I was offered just felt weak or didn't fit with my other gear. While the game does an exceeding job at randomizing content, sometimes it feels as if the numbers are against me, and that pushes me away from the game.


I'll conclude it here:

Overall the game handles amazingly, I have never felt better playing a 2D action game, truly. The product as a whole delivers on many levels and is well worth the reduced cost during the steam summer sale. However, I would much prefer to see some quality of life improvements, making some other weapons more viable or more rewarding to play with.

NOTE: The price of the game will go up by 5$ after the sale ends.

Thanks for reading,

Do let me know if you would prefer to see a deeper dive into the mechanics and core systems in my next overview on The Artificial Lobby.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56