Battle Chess (DOS) Quick Review - Rerez

in #gaming7 years ago

maxresdefault.jpg

Watch the video right now with Viewly:
https://upload.view.ly/view/useruploads/cd8e--2017-09-18--battle-chess-dos-quick-review-rerez

When I was a kid everyone had a video game console. My friends had Nintendos, Super Nintendos, Sega Geneses and a couple of the weird ones had TurboGrafx Systems. But for me, I had a PC. I did end up getting a NES and a Genesis but that didn't matter because the PC was the system I used the most to play video games. I used to play games like Syndicate, Mega Race and well a lot of games by LucasArts. But I think the game I used to play the most, which was kind of weird, was Battle Chess.

Capture.PNG

Battle Chess is a very basic game. It's just chess but that doesn't mean it's a bad game by any
means. See what's cool about Battle Chess is that when you're playing the game you're actually playing just basic chess but the characters fight to the death in the game and for some reason I found that to be so amazing when I was a kid. Whenever I would play chess with someone we’d always play this version and it would be this great little game of strategy and defense. What was so cool about battle chess was that your characters fought! They actually animated them walking around on the board and attacking one another. It was something very different to see. I did everything I could just to see every single animation in the game and that was some of the fun of Battle Chess. If you're going to play a game like chess it might as well look cool.


Follow me on Steemit @Rerez for more gaming posts!
Rerez.gif

Sort:  

A DOS game?!!!! Yes!!!! I played this so much as a kid. It was fantastic! It wasn't exactly like the game Chewbacca and R2D2 played on the Millennium Falcon... but I could pretend.

There is actually a Star Wars Battle Chess game that looks exactly like this but with Star Wars characters. :)

Colour full video nice but little not clear dude its not negative comment but suggestions

Congratulations @rerez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yes I was loading this one from the tape. And so many times I had to adjust the tape head to get things right :)
hqdefault.jpg

Congratulations @rerez, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 833 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5314.86. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

One of my favourites was Super Mario Kart.😄 😁 😆

Ah, I remember this when I was a child!

I still remember the floppy disk it came on, and playing it on the ol' "486" was great.

I loved the king and queen animations: my favourite was when an opposing king and queen met, and they kiss... only for an utterly brutal back-stab to occur, heh.

Another was when the rooks ate a queen.

Although there were various sequels and reimaginings/remakes, the original was pretty much the best.

I do wish someone would remake the game with better sprites: if it were an Android or iOS game, it'd be able reach a whole new generation or three, and seeing a queen get devoured by a rook on some guy's phone on the train would be hilarious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05