Garage sale video game hunting results (June 8-9) -- I found some cool stuff!

in #gaming6 years ago

QmdhGAcF1L3N1Gga2DPv5CwFHTSLDCKatGBaC99frTUa88.jpg

This was the third weekend of our 2018 garage sale adventures. This was a heavy weekend and there were garage sales everywhere, so we spent about 3 (maybe 4) solid hours hunting. While I didn't find any great video game stuff, that's not to say that the weekend was a bust. Far from it!

20180610_082318.jpg
Photos by retro-room

First of all comes the games. A nice little starter pack of PSP games (a console I still have yet to add to my collection), a Hello Kitty game for my daughter and a couple of good deals on 360 games. Additionally, I found an old Tiger LCD game, which are pretty collectible and getting really hard to find.

20180610_082431.jpg
Photos by retro-room

For movies, I found some classics that have finally found a spot in my collection (though calling Super Mario Bros Super Show a classic might be bit of a stretch). Though the Back to the Future stuff was one of the highlights of the day. BTTF is my all-time favorite movie and I have a decent collection of BTTF merchandise. I was even wearing a BTTF shirt when I was out hunting.

20180610_082509.jpg
Photos by retro-room

The coasters were my favorite, since I'll likely never see that item out the wild again.

20180610_082113.jpg
Photos by retro-room

At the same sale that had the BTTF stuff, they also had a crapload of Star Trek MOC (mint on card) action figures. I grabbed some of my favorite Star Trek: TNG figures at a killer price.

20180610_081928.jpg
Photos by retro-room

Here's the entire haul for the weekend. This was another solid weekend out in the hunt. Again, while I didn't find any great or rare retro games this weekend (which is getting increasingly harder each year), I did manage to get some really cool stuff.


Decorative-Line-Black-PNG-Image.png

Thanks for reading. As always, upvotes, resteems and comments are appreciated!

Cover Image Source: Garage $ale Groove

Sort:  
Loading...

Pretty nice haul... unfortunate that we don't really have garage sales in the UK, but I should still go out hunting for stuff this week in charity shops...

Nice pick, i have this version of back to the future

I'm glad you got such a good steal! But I feel kind of bad for the people who bought the figurines and kept them in the original packaging all these years, just to sell them for pennies on the dollar at a yard sale.

When I worked at the big chain bookstore and we started selling these toys, I couldn't believe what people would spend for them. My co-worker would buy half the stock! "These POP Vinyl figures are going to be worth so much someday..." Three moves and three years of storage rental costs later, he's still waiting.

I know what you mean. Last year, I sold all my original, unopened Austin Powers figures that I had owned since the late 90's, on our own garage sale.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85