You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Doom (1993 PC game) : Kinda where it all began

in #gaming5 years ago

This game pretty much cemented my life long addiction to gaming. I still remember playing co-op over dial up with one of my friends back in the day. We used to use the level editors to make our own arena style maps and turn on infinite respawns and just go to town! When Quake came out it blew my mind. Having the ability to create structures you could walk under and over was pretty amazing as all of Dooms maps are based on a 2d map. Id software is the reason I dreamed of making games. Sadly the technology far outpaced my abilities so now I just enjoy playing them like mad!

Sort:  

i think i might be in the same camp as you. I have always liked video games since the Atari 2600, but I think Doom was the first game that I enjoyed so much that it was something I would dream about and would force me into daydreaming mid day about a level that I couldn't yet get past. haha

Same. I think the first video game system I played was either collecovision or intellivision. Atari was a bit after for me. But yeah Doom was what kicked off an addiction for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70971.83
ETH 3830.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.41