Agony, Hentai ... Should video games be censored?

in #gaming6 years ago

In recent times we are experiencing some cases of censorship. Are they justified?

Perhaps the most recent case of videogame censorship has been Agony. The game Madmind Studios offers a raw and wild version of hell that has brought problems to those responsible. In the end, Agony will not have an uncensored version because they even had legal threats if they published certain forbidden content. We have also recently experienced the case of the disappearance of the erotic games of Steam, which has caused great controversy.

Is everything worth it and can anything be published? Or, on the other hand, is censorship in video games tolerable?

Yes, it is clear that being in favor of censoring something is unpopular. But, please, read me first and then draw your conclusions. The Agony factor is tricky because we did not know what has been left out of it by censorship. By not doing spoilers, in the game we see a demon using babies as putty to build a wall. It impacts me, but I have no problem with that; it's a +18 game and I know what I'm coming from. It's a sordid and dark vision of hell, and I'm here to see beastly things. It does not scandalize me and I do not take my hands to my head. But if all that has passed the cut, and Madmind Studios have put a legal threat that has forced him to cut other things from the seven end of the game so they do not fall a lawsuit that can even close the studio, what more brutal than that could have occurred to them to stay out? Well, they've already let us see the censored scenes of Agony. More murders of babies (this time carried out by the player himself) or first person violations, among other things. It's a fantasy game, and I can tolerate it ... but it's already bordering on my limits.

I am against the elimination of erotic-themed games from the Steam catalog, because even though it is not a type of product that I consume, I do not think it's necessary to prohibit it, far from it. And I do not agree with that double standard that does not punish violence in movies or video games, but that puts your hands to your head with the vision of a breast or a penis. But I do believe that we have to put some limits. Anyone with a video game culture will remember Custer's Revenge. An ancient game in which the main objective is to overcome obstacles to end violating a Native American. No longer monsters or in a fantasy environment. To people. Would that be received today? On the other hand, it has not cost me much to search Google for more cases of games where the objective is a violation. To give you another example, RapeLay, with a name that does not leave much room for imagination, is a 2005 title signed by Illusion Soft based on raping a mother and her daughters (one of them minor). That has no defense. I do not want that "game" to be on Steam or anywhere. For two reasons: First, because I do not want anyone to charge a dollar for making it an entertainment, and secondly because I do not want anyone to fulfill any kind of twisted fantasy by playing it.

I am very supportive of creative freedom, always have been. But no, it's not worth everything. Positioning yourself sounds retrograde but, if you think about it, I'm sure you end up agreeing with me. Naked, violence, sex ... All that seems very good in a +18, but that is not an impediment to not think that there must be certain barriers that we should not overcome, and the only way to avoid doing so is with a minimum of control.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55