Mega Man X4 Masochist Challenge Part 03

in #gaming6 years ago


Okay, Cyber Peacock's stage. And I promise I won't make cock jokes. At least not many.

After the insanity that I went through last time with Slash Beast's stage, this stage was very, very much appreciated.

I love the stage's gimmick.

In order to get the upgrades, you need to finish the areas quickly enough to earn the S Rank. Now, of course, we're not collecting the upgrades in this run, but it's still a fun challenge to earn the S Ranks.

This stage is all skill and no luck, and that's exactly how I like my X games. Nothing sneaks up on you, and if you're good enough, you can do this stage perfectly on your first try. It's kinda like Magma Dragoon's stage in that sense.

Sure, it's pretty easy, but good level design in a Mega Man X game has never really had to do with the difficulty level, per se, in my opinion. The best level design in an X game is such that you feel like an unstoppable force of nature speeding your way through it.

One of my favorite stages in the game, and a nice breather in a run like this. Stages like this one make X4 deserving of the praise it gets.

I did some experimenting, and I think the route I found is the quickest way to get through this stage, but someone smarter than me can make me look like an idiot.

So, until then.

The fight against Peacock isn't much different from how one usually fights him. Sure, I don't use his weakness against him, but the battle is so pattern-based, it's hard to deviate from that. His homing missiles are the only active threat, and those things are easy to dodge by using what I call the Morph Moth pattern of dashing around in a circle and placing a shot in at the opportune time.

By the way, my OCD flares up big time by the fact that my finger slips just before the beginning of the battle as I'm charging my buster, and it forces me to restart the charge.

Oh, well.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Amazing gaming.
I like this dtube.

My skills are amazing, I agree.

I love this game and I like this colors .
If you don't mind please check my recent post I hope you love it .

Namaste

Still so amazing ! I wonder if you master other games as well as this one ? How long have you been playing Megaman ?

Honestly, no, not really. I'm pretty good at the early Mario games. But there's not another franchise I master quite like the Mega Man games.

As for how long I've been playing them, for about 25 years, haha.

It is entertaining for me to see someone mastering games at a level, which is just pure art. I have been playing Quake since 1999, it is most propably the hardest fps game ever created, where you need months/years of practice to be an average player. In the beginning I felt like leaving the game, beside the horendest modem bills, but I was amazed about the community at that time and the mechanics of the game. So I kept goin to a level where I could compete in team based tournaments. I played Quake (Quake Live) till 2017.

The original Quake? I remember having it, and yes, it was difficult. It was never my absolute favorite, or anything. I actually think it was technically my stepdad's game that he got for himself, but of course, he let me play it, as well. I think we did complete it, but it was never anything I was overly passionate about. Fun game, though.

We also had Quake 2, which was the Quake game I played the most.

I can imagine it taking tons of practice to be good at a Quake game. I've watched some of the online Quake tournament things, and it's pretty insane how some of the hardcores go about it playing it.

Did you ever play Tribes? I had a group of friends who were way into that, the timing and skill of some of those players was insane.

Actually it was Quake 3 Arena. I never played the original Quake 1.

Yes it is crazy the dedication of pros at the highest level of play. I guess that is the reason why it could never gain the popularity again. It just takes too much time for new players to compete with the pros.

I really like watching you play mega man games, but I've always enjoyed watching other people play games, that way I get to watch the story like a movie but not put in any of the work.

Great to hear that you get something out of me playing stupid video games. :D

I'm just kidding, Mega Man games aren't stupid. But good to know I'm not just posting these to a brick wall.

I've watched every single one you posted, it's kind of fascinating to me to be honest. I'm a big pinball fan so I understand the mindset behind finding the patterns, learning how the code works and perfecting the timing. If you keep posting these I'll keep watching and upvoting them!

I totally get that mindset, yeah! I've always been fascinated by the inner workings of games, as well. Same goes for a lot of other stuff. Most, to be honest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63