What have I been playing? February 2019

in #gaming5 years ago

100735.PNG

Currently: 100,700/100,000 Gamerscore


Hello fellow gamers and steemians. As busy as I've been, not a whole lot has changed in my game library right after the Winter months. The most I have to report is Fallout 76 is still a work in progress but getting better over time, Crackdown 3 was a temporary firework that "Oooh'd and Aaaah'd" for only a couple of weeks, and there was some other games in-between that helped me push 100k Gamerscore



What am I playing?

01.png

Game: Crackdown 3
Type: Action-Adventure
Rough Score: 7/10
Similar games: Crackdown(Series)
Why?:

  • After enjoying both the first and second game in the series, I was pumped when I heard the third was coming.
  • I knew it was coming to Game Pass and it helped justify paying for the service at the time.
  • I've been looking for some Verticality in my games lately.
  • I could practically hear the Orbs beckoning, asking to be collected..

02.png

The game is very reminiscent of the previous games and I could not pass the opportunity to play as Terry Crews XD

03.png

The art style seems to pop a bit more and even the cutscenes are a bit flashier. They did a good job at taking the other two games just a bit further, but.. my worry is that wasn't enough..

Verdict: It may not be enough because after a couple weeks of playing the game, we lost the urge to jump back in, barely scratching the surface of the game. A few friends and I played and as much as we enjoyed it and can't really talk down on it.. we just aren't in any rush to jump back in right away..

What we played of the game we enjoyed thoroughly. We had a blast whether it was jumping into a fight with a group of bad guys that we probably shouldn't of done.. crazy car challenges trying to do while driving up buildings.. the sarcastic and funny comments the characters make.. and the explosions of course were all great but.. just like a firework, almost as soon as it started and was flashy.. it was over.. maybe we'll jump back in one of these weekends..


04.png

Game: The Division 2 BETA
Type: Action-RPG
Rough Score: 6.5/10
Similar games: The Division 1
Why?:

  • Although I never came close to doing everything you could on The Division, I was excited to try out what was next.
  • I enjoy MMO-Lite experiences and every once in a while, a gun or drone is a nice change from sword and shield.
  • I enjoyed recognizing certain NYC monuments from the first game and wanted to see the landmarks around DC.
  • My trigger finger's been a bit itchy and this was a nice change of pace..

06.png

All glitches aside.. after my BETA weekend was over, I didn't have any urge to make sure I pre-ordered the game or even look further into it..

Verdict: It's not for me. Unfortunately I would of rather have seen them expand upon the first game... Whether it was the whole idea that I recognized more things in the first game so it gave more of a "wow-factor" and I enjoyed exploring NYC more, I had no urge to really wander around all that much. The city streets look very copy/paste from the first game and at the end of the day I'm not sure why they never just made 1 game and made it so you bought the second game ( expansion ) and just took a train there.. It's a bad habit when games like this and even Destiny look at a (10) year period as the opportunity for (3) games to be developed in that time frame, rather than working on one Ultimate version of their vision in that same time span.. If it comes to XBOX Game Pass I'll give it a go, but I cant see myself spending money on this one, especially when they're probably thinking about the next game, and these severs will probably all be down in a couple of years..



Fallout 76 B.E.T.A. (15).png

Game: Fallout 76
Type: Action RPG
Rough Score: 7.6/10
Similar games: Fallout 4, Online? Hard to actually compare this experience to anything else, it's not ESO
Why?:

  • Since the Bethesda E3 2018 Conference I have been hyped up for the game and continue to be.
  • Apparently I love time sinks. (Grindy games)
  • Apparently I love torturing myself. (Bugs + Glitches Galore..)

8 Ready.png

This game has been an interesting experience so far. Even months after it's release, it's hard to look online and not see this game get trash reviews, horrible responses from the community, and overall just people thinking this game is flaming garbage.. Revisiting my score when I played the B.E.T.A. version of the game, I said it was a 10/10 because of how much potential I saw in the game and was generally happy with the game. Another month into the game after the last review and I've decided to give it a 7.6/10, a little higher than my last rating, because of how much it's been improving and the interaction with the developers during the month of February.

Optimized-10 Disconect.png

Looking back at what I said and I'll stick to,

"Don't think of this game as a finished product and just think of it in "Game Preview" as they have on Xbox. I like to think of this game as if Ark: Survival Evolved and a game like Diablo III had a baby.. and they really are trying to work things out.. and raise this hybrid.. what could it become or contain from each parent?"

  • Multiple game modes (Adventure / Survival Mode)
  • An improved grind for legendries (TBA)
  • Seasons (TBA)
  • Weekly/Monthly buffs/events (Buffs not as much, but timed events to come after February!)
  • More useful developer feedback (They're doing better!)
  • More of a community interaction (Twitter/Reddit interaction is apparent)
  • A further developed game (We'll get there..)

"A lot of this can be achieved and the game really can be polished over time and I understand this should be a finished product, but we didn't get that, and we aren't getting that fast so what's the next step besides getting on Reddit or Twitter and complaining about every little thing? Give constructive criticism along with your complaints, everyone has the right to be mad and are entitled to their opinions but it's been months of just, THIS SUCKS! / FIX YOUR GAME! / I AM DONE WITH FALLOUT AFTER THIS LAST PATCH! Even if you're giving the feedback, things don't change overnight and the community needs to be more patient towards this one. A good portion of the community, including myself, have seen past a lot of flaws and are just enjoying the adventure as it unfolds..-


My Mixer Streams has been primarily focused on Fallout 76 content and I've had first-hand experience with how the game started out in B.E.T.A. and where it's come so far. I'm very excited to see how it unfolds throughout the year and look forward to sharing those experiences with my followers on Mixer as well as YouTube.

11 nuke Fallout 76.png


Honorable Mentions


10.png


13.png

Manual Samuel & The Gardens Between were both great games I enjoyed thoroughly on XBOX Game Pass. If you want a laugh and to maybe get a little frustrated as you learn to manually do everything you'd normally do like breathing, blinking, chewing, walking, etc. please give that game a try, it's hilarious. As for The Gardens between it's a great puzzle solver that you rewind and forward time to help you solve puzzles, also worth a download!


Games I’ll be playing this March


Fallout 76 B.E.T.A. (15).png

-Scruffy

#gaming #review #xbox #achievement #gamerscore #fallout76 #crackdown3


100700.png

Gamer | Designer | Architectural Draftsman | Full Time Nerd


STAY CONNECTED

Follow-on-Mixer.png Follow-on-Xbox.png
Follow-on-Twitter.png Follow-on-You-Tube.png




Related:
What have I been playing? Winter 2018-2019
What have I been playing? Fall 2018
July Gaming + DLive Streaming!
May/June Gaming + DLive Streaming!
April Gaming
March Gaming

Recent:
LOOTGAMING Episode 08
Fo76 - Wild Appalachia - Official Gameplay Trailer BREAKDOWN
Fo76 - Inside The Vault: Parade + Patch 7 Preview BREAKDOWN
1 Year 1 Month 1 Day On Steemit!

Featured:
MetamorphoSims - 1Fam - 01 - Intro

Sort:  
Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/6yD2Emr. Good Game, Well Played!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86