Life and Death- A Rift Dimension by @simgirl

in #gaming6 years ago

Is There Marriage After Death?


Imgur



What happens when you find the love of your life, but your life is already gone?

Today I wanted to share a dimension in the game Rift that I created a long time ago called Life and Death. The dimension was built for a contest. I can't remember the theme of the contest, but it must have had something to do with death. The main goal behind a Rift dimension building contest is to be creative with the items.

Some of the contestants have serious skills and will blow you out of the water with their designs. Most of the contestants in these contests are so good, some won't even bother to try. There are mods you can use to build that make the items lay straight and to create perfect angles.

I never did get very technical when I was building my dimensions. It was exciting enough to have the items and learn to create new designs. By this time in my Rift playing, I had learned how to make new shapes and create new items from the building materials. By combining the items you have endless possibilities for creating new designs and scenes.



2018-08-06 (28).png



I had acquired many of the Halloween themed items from the seasonal quests Rift provides. During these events, you can do daily quests and challenges to collect the season's currency. You can then trade the currency for dimension items, special items, mounts and pets. These items will only be available during the event.

Many of the season's rewards include a new dimension and a new set of dimension items to use to build. After the season ends, these items are often sold in the auction house, and can be bought after the event. If you do the quest on more than one toon, you will have double the items, as was in my case since I am an overachiever.

I always loved this dimension because once the novelty wore off, then I was stuck with a bunch of Halloween items and I finally got to use them in a cool way. Since I like how this dimension turned out, I will most likely keep it. The building was the perfect place for a wedding, and the jack-o-lantern heads made the perfect afterlife attendees.



2018-08-06 (19).png



This dimension also has many of the cool moving dimension items like the cat sitting in the front row. I placed the cat on the lap of the guest in the front row. The cat will stand up, stretch, purr and lay back down. I made the guests from the Halloween corpses that were wrapped in spider webs. I then placed the glowing jack-o-lanterns on their heads. The bride too is a wrapped corpse, and I used a skeleton for the groom.

Outside the church there are all of the wedding festivities you would expect to see at an afterlife wedding, complete with food, dancing and a bar.



2018-08-06 (22).png



Nico is our friendly Rift barkeep that will supply us with fresh beers all day long! This is one of @snook's favorite dimension items, and she will sit and talk to Nico for hours.

From beginning to end, this little scene comes to life and tells the story of the day these little pumpkin heads tied the knot.



2018-08-06 (13).png



One of my favorite features of the dimensions in the Rift game are the projectors for the sky. These projectors are very small, and can be placed in the dimension to project an image on the sky. This was the Harvest Moon projector which turned the sky purple, and displayed the full moon over the scene.



2018-08-06 (17).png



This is a shot from the back of the building. I made my own pews for the church using the fancy benches I had in storage, and tried to lighten the room with candles and hanging wall lanterns. I used fog in the building to make it look as if they were living in another dimension. It also made it look spooky.



2018-08-06 (20).png



This lady is ready to serve. The buffet is prepared and the help is friendly.



2018-08-06 (16).png



There is plenty of room in the courtyard for the guests to gather. The quiet gazebo lures the guests over to relax while they enjoy the buffet.



2018-08-06 (21).png



The music in this dimension seems to make the people want to dance. I did try to put jack-o-lantern heads on these folks, but they moved around too much!



2018-08-06 (23).png



The fountain on the side of the building seems like a peaceful place to take a nap while the baby bundle is resting.



2018-08-06 (24).png



But who is this lurking in the graveyard?



2018-08-06 (25).png



This sheep is awesome! He walks around eats the grass and says, baaa.



2018-08-06 (26).png



No Afterlife wedding would be complete without a skeleton sword fight!



2018-08-06 (27).png



And then there's always the guest who will be there in spirit....

I hope you enjoyed this walk through my Life and Death dimension in Rift. I hope to be able to make a video one day of these gems since that way you can visit and get the full effect of the space.

Until next time,

Happy Gaming- Sim Girl



wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

I love this dim you built!!! it's beautiful inside when you walk though <3

Thanks! The dim contests were so much fun!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Simgirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99