A peek inside Path Of Exile 3.0 Yes the game is free. No bullshit.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago

I am coming back to this game after 2 years of not playing it or so.
Since my departure the whole game has changed.
August 4th was the release date for a new expansion.
It signified a great change in the game.
I have gotten to ACT 7 OF 10
of POES new expansion.

D2 had 5 acts in comparison.
It has the horror style that d2 but puts it in a modern graphics style.
The game updates once every 4-6 months where they add something new like a mini expansion
This time around it is called the harbinger league.
You see a blue tinge on your screen.
You see a orange (boss)
Summoning a bunch of dudes.
What is different from this boss?
Well the only way to kill him is if you kill off his mini army.
The summoners look the same everytime. But it is enemies for the level you are currently at.
He sometimes even spawns level bosses. So have fun.

In OLD POE you had 3 acts you did on harder difficulties

Normal
Cruel
Merciless

Everytime you went around on the game it got harder
Now that has changed.
Instead of having the same content 3 times but with different challenges they added
6 acts of content.

Now I am kind of upset that act 6 starts back to the original town in a way,
The level designs are kinda similar and the town has the same NPCS.
This time around you are fighting new enemies with sometimes the old shaking its ugly head.
This game is constantly being updated and I would not be surprised if they change this.

It's fine I think they should make new maps for these areas to show off the new enemies.
I think there should be new NPCS as well to take the old peoples places.

I have obsessively played this game these past 4 days.
Even before that I spent atleast 200 hours on the game in the past.

What is Path Of Exile.


Well it is pretty much d2. If you do not know d2. It is a action rpg where the level designs are randomized and the enemies have different abilities that are randomized. On top of that the loot is randomized. So you will never know what you will ever get every single time. What this game adds to the d2 genre of ARPG is customization of class. Say you like a spell. You can pick up gems that change what the spell does. You shoot one bouncing fireball. Get a gem for firing 3 spells. Congrats now you have 3 fireballs that fuck up everything in its path. It gets deep you can totally choose what you want to do.

POE customization and a mini peak of the skill tree




What you see above is a totem linked to a spell and the totem will shoot enemies near it.

But a rare gem and a rare weapon now adds to the spell



The fun part is you now get to search for it. On top of that you get loot that you can randomize. You use gems to change the stats of your weapons and there is drop boxes that you can edit with the same loot and the higher the rarity of the dropboxes the harder it is to kill the enemies and on top of that you get better loot.

Here is the real peek to the skill tree



What was old POE like?

You start a character. You use one spell over and over again. Nothing seems to bad the game just feels too slow for its own good. Oh boy here comes your 4th boss. One shot. Dead. Well there goes my not wanting to die in hardcore. Ok So I completed the game on normal. Now on cruel the enemies have random affixes on them. Also since I seen this content before I know when I will get a quest finished. I know when a NPC or a boss is coming. I know how long it is going to be to get to the next level. Do not get me started with the grind. At the highest level in OLD POE you would spend days trying to get up a level.
Want the best gear in the game?
Better grind end game maps and hope you get a drop so you can sell it to someone that you have to wait for a response from a person on a website which might never happen.

What is POE 3.0.0 about.

First off instead of it being a slow grindy experience when you level up you do not feel like it is a chore or a grind. You mow down enemies. Some enemies give you that feeling where they will not die at all but you get over that quickly. Since the original game came out they have added a bunch of events that can happen in the world. There is a ghost that runs away that you need to chase. But be careful you dont want to aggro a boss or 50 enemies. There is linked enemies where they share the same affixes like can freeze you. Shoots a ball of flames. Bosses have this as well as rare enemies. Sometimes there will be a pack of 5 rare enemies they all have different affixes but they all combine and they are impossible to kill. Before the game never would give you what you needed to progress at all. You would be stuck dying 50 times and you would lose all your experience for that level. Enemies are as strong as you are. Old POE every enemy seemed like it was towering over you in strength so your little puny self would die. In new POE. You get boots that make you speedier. Here comes enemies blazing across the map that zap you and sometimes scare you. Your attack gets faster? Oh well now enemies are going to counter your speed with their speed. There is a lot more of them then there is you. POE feels like the real diablo 3. The only thing missing is PvP but if you love d2 then you can forgive it for that one flaw. Varied map design. Now you can never tell when a NPC or a event is going to come up. Also you do not know if you will have a linear map or a map that takes you 30 minutes to explore a whole zone. I went to the same place 2 times and one was super linear the next time I went there I got lost literally.
Varying difficulty. Sometimes you will be walking around killing a couple monsters. Next thing you know you have 50 different enemies around you and you do not know what to do but run. The game also gives you what you want when you need it. Gone are the days waiting on a shitty website for days to get a response for your item.

Cons of NEW POE.

same enemies here.
Same enemies there.
Just a bit harder or easier.
It is fine for someone new to the game but for me I want ALL NEW ENEMIES.

POE new areas.

Favorite new place thus far. Ossuary




This shows off how you can use the loot you have to change a dropbox.

a monsters gut, a beach, on top of a cathedral.
There is so many new places to explore. Even if it does look similar there is new enemies in the similar looking worlds to not bother you.

POE new bosses vs old bosses.

Old bosses had a few moves that would kill you instantly or maybe in 3-5 hits.
New POE bosses. They still do that but other times they are more lenient.
Sometimes bosses will be out in the level and sometimes they are locked up in a arena.
I do not like the arena bosses as much. Also with old POE it seemed bosses always dropped rare loot.
Rare loot is scattered with sometimes bosses not dropping anything
WHICH I LOVE because you do not always get what you want making you want to kill more bosses.

Be careful not to die

This is what you get if you survive

This game is extremely fun and I suggest anyone with a little bit of time to check it out.
If you like d2
Try it
If you kinda like grinding but kinda dont
Try it
Action RPG
Try it.

I will do a final score of the game as I binge on it
I will do end game maps as well so I will let you know what I think.

SOURCE: Path of exile by grinding gear games.
Free to play not pay to win.
And streamers who play this game
Thank you for making this available to people so they can pretend like they are playing D2 for the first time again

But for now I gotta get going I am having a craving to play again. I will see you later @sinned

Sort:  

@mrstaf and myself are also playing new PoE, although i prefer D3. PoE kinda become super easy game comparing it to D3. Anyway, PoE, just act 2 now :) See you in game :D

Btw join Team SteemIt group on Steam. :)

Cheers

Luci

P.S. The Ministry of Darkness you have friend request on Steam from @murda-ra

Hi luci nice to meet you.
I have been on and off with this game since 2012. Every DLC or 2 I come back and play and always get hooked for a while. It might not seem to hard at first but it ramps up in scary amounts sometimes. When you least expect it you will get hit and die. Old school was really unpredictable but now you kinda get a feeling for it its in a groove. Its cool you like d3. I really like the aesthetics of d2 and poe how it is super dark looking and realistic. When I saw d3 It reminded me to much of WoWs style and by that time I was like I am done with this kind of style. Whatever about all that I hope you enjoy the game. Right now I am trying to log on to my old accoutn to give a person some of my old goods that I had in the game. They might be worthless or might be worth something who knows at this point. They will be put to good use though right I hope. See you and I will join if i dont ask 2399290 more times.

Can you give me the walkthrough of this game. Like the way you described the game.

There is so much to talk about. What specifics would you like to know?
To get the game all you need is a steamaccount.
If you want a guide for pathofexile
You can find em here.
https://www.pathofexile.com/forum/view-forum/gameplay-discussion

If you want a character starter build you can go here.
https://www.pathofexile.com/forum
Click on
Classes
Build.

People say the summoner is the best for a new player.

let me get the fun out of it then i will let you know buddy

Sure man if you need help add me on steam or on discord
#sinned1563 I think on discord and on steam
http://steamcommunity.com/id/coolshityo/

i already add you in my following list.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ѕіииэↁ from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68316.98
ETH 3856.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65