You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Controller evolution over the gaming years

in #gaming11 months ago

Looking at all of those controllers, there aren’t any that I think are really bad. The N64 one was probably the strangest but the trigger worked really well for games like Goldeneye.

I’ve hooked my PS3 controller up to my PC although the PC’s been tricked into thinking it’s an Xbox controller. It works though and it’s good for platform games.

I miss joysticks in a way. Although I remember getting pissed off with Q-Bert when the joystick confused up with down.

Sort:  

The ps4 adapter I had for my PC was stupid and it has a slight delay on the controls because it was simply an after-market adaptor for the real console controller. As I am sure you can understand a delay, even one that is just a few milliseconds can change a lot about a game with todays playstyle.

The N64 controller really seems silly these days but it worked at the time. Something not featured in those pictures but should be are the evolution of the absolutely monstrous Sega controllers. I remember the Dreamcast controllers being downright uncomfortable they were so huge. The Atari controllers got out of hand with their enormity as well but Atari couldn't seem to do anything right post 1984 or so.

Can you just plug it in with a USB cable? That's all I do with my PS3 controller and have some software (SCP I think it's called) which works well. Although my reflexes are so crap these days that there's probably a huge lag 😆

I think this is what you're looking for...

image.png

We all know they peaked with the Mega Drive.

Some would argue a big part of their downfall was that they hung onto the mega drive for too long. They kept making terrible add-ons for it that further diminished their name rather than just get cracking on a next-gen system. Then when they did finally get the Saturn out the door it was a beast of a machine and it was really expensive. It didn't help that it only had something like 6 games for the first 4 months after launch.

I've never had a PS 4 controller that plugged in straight USB. This is probably the problem. I honestly have never tried to plug in my ps4 controllers from the console which are also USB... hmmmm.

Great meme by the way.

Then when they did finally get the Saturn out the door it was a beast of a machine and it was really expensive.

It sounds like they were ahead of their time - I don't think I'll be able to afford to buy a games console until it's at least 2 generations old!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67651.53
ETH 3845.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65