Asheron's Call - Original Intro & More [Favourites of The Gillos]

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Asheron's Call

ORIGINAL INTRO, CHARACTER CREATION, & A SHORT TOUR OF THE OLD SCHOOL WORLD OF EARLY RETAIL ASHERON'S CALL

One of the original MMOs, after Meridian 59, Ultima Online, and EverQuest came Asheron's Call. Turbine developed this gem with the help of Microsoft and their legendary (or infamous depending on who you ask) Microsoft Gaming Zone.

I played this game in beta, then begged my parents for their credit card to play the real thing when it debeued in late 1999. I was hooked, just deeply hooked. As though the game used a boat anchor on my soul; THAT HOOKED!

I snuck downstairs at 4AM to play it before school, I played it as much as my folks would let me, I skipped parties, dates, friends, whatever I could to play my beloved characters!

This video brings back such profound memories of a simpler time, before World of Warcraft cratered the genre (IMO). If you played Asheron's Call, or even if you just have a passing interest in early MMO games take a look at what I consider to be the best MMO, perhaps the best game I've ever played.

Join me, The Gillos, as I go through my list of YouTube favourites spanning 9 years of content curation. Enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69