My first week on Steemit or The Difficult Art of Creation

in #gaming6 years ago

The Touchy-feely part

I'm going to be very upfront with you guys - my ego is huge.
I wrote it in my first post, but I'll clear it up - I'm a very shy person, I've always been an underachiever plagued with many a complexes, fears and all sorts of messed up brain stuff that made it difficult for me to play the game of our society.

qVoDnV6.jpg

Orson Welles very accurately summed up the the group of people I belong to when he spoke about why he can't stand Woody Allen

He is arrogant. Like all people with timid personalities, his arrogance is ­unlimited. Anybody who speaks quietly and shrivels up in company is unbelievably ­arrogant. He acts shy, but he’s not. He’s scared. He hates himself, and he loves himself, a very tense situation. It’s people like me who have to carry on and pretend to be modest. To me, it’s the most embarrassing thing in the world—a man who presents himself at his worst to get laughs, in order to free himself from his hang-ups. Everything he does on the screen is therapeutic.

These observations are on point. I always kept to myself, felt uncomfortable in social interactions and thought myself to be at the same the worst and greatest person who ever lived. But I somehow managed to carry myself from one thing to another. Never exactly fitting in but bullshitting my way through. Never finding my "thing" but being to cowardly to reach out to try things that could be my things.

I never had much friends, now I have even less, with whom I rarely even talk. A few months ago I left my job. Before that I left university. Before that I barely powered through high school. I was a good student and employee, often I met with praise. But everything felt out of place. I didn't fit these worlds

And here I am now. Unemployed, living with parents in the countryside, haven't gone beyond the property for almost two months now.

And I'm trying to do what I love. What I love is writing, and video games, and music, and films, and history and all that BASIC crap that, like, everyone else loves too.

But I can write, at least I think I can, and I want to write about the stuff I love. I have some money and I'm quite safe in that way. My parents are nagging me to get a job (they are right in a way), but won't kick me to the curb.

I can try and make a career out of this. Maybe not on Steemit, maybe this is only the place where I lay the cornerstone and hone my skills, but I'd kill myself if I didn't try.

The Real Shit Part

I already realized that it isn't very easy, making it on Steemit. I don't really need the money or the influence. What I want is views as possible so people actually read what I write.

But they don't.

ZXWcaSI.png

Here is my failing strategy to get more reach:

  1. Creating quality content
  2. Doing a shitload of research for my posts
  3. Writing about facts
  4. Spicing it up with opinions
  5. Trying to make it light
  6. Engaging with people commenting
  7. Upvoting and following quality creators
  8. Trying to interest said creators in my content
  9. Writing stuff often
  10. Giving back to community

Here is what it seems I should do:

  1. Power up on Steem dolans or whatever
  2. Employ an army of bots
  3. Hunt for curation rewards
  4. Write a shitload of short, pointless posts
  5. CRYPTO!
  6. LIFESTYLE!
  7. Write like a cultist, always positive for max sympathy

But I won't do the second list, I'll stick to the first one. If it won't succeed then c'est la vie and I'm outta here, looking for greener pastures.

Stats after a week

31 level
15 posts on the blog
59 comments made
37 replies made to my posts or comments
1 giveaway created
negligible amounts of Steem currencies earned
negligible reputation and influence created

And that's all for today folks

Stay tuned because this week I plan to cover new stuff in Battlefield 1, rage on Rainbow Six Siege and show you my fiction writing skills.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61785.67
ETH 2891.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54