Call of Duty: WWII Open Beta over - My thoughts

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Stronghold_Metadata_Image.jpg

So the Call of Duty: WWII Open Beta ended today, and that begs the question... Is it any good?

Well Today I want to give my humble opinion on the game/beta, and not in a review type of post. No no, this is my initial thoughts, because truth be told CoD and I have had a strange relationship over the years.

so before I go into WWII, I want to tell you my history with Call of Duty. It all started back with Call of Duty. no no, the first game.
Codbox.jpg
ahh yes... Seeing the cover brings back memories. Back then I was a young fella and I thought this game was truly groundbreaking. Back then single player was a big thing, much more than today. The level that I still remember quiet well is the Omaha beach level. For me that was a incredible recreation of history, I actually got interested in World War 2 history at that point because of Call of Duty. But it wasn't until CoD 2... And the different take on D-day, that I truly felt in love. I still remember the level where you once again storm the beaches on D-day, but this time you are climbing up a rocky site off Pointe du Hoc.
maxresdefault.jpg

At this point in time, Call of Duty was my jam. I loved the series, I bought every iteration. I just felt they kept getting better. The height of the CoD series was for me Call of Duty: Modern Warfare. WAUW, the single player experience was topnotch, and the multiplayer was even better! I wasted countless hours into multiplayer in that game. The multiplayer experience was filled with bugs... I kept getting thrown out the game because of PunkBuster, hackers where everywhere and the gameplay was determined mostly by your internet connection.... I din't care I enjoyed the experience for what it was.

But low and behold
maxresdefault (1).jpg
YES, I loved Modern Warfare 2... I'm not ashamed to say that, I loved it. But when it came out I played it way to much with my friends! I bonded a lot over this game. Playing team based game modes was awesome, leveling up your guns and prestige to infinity... Also the single player was great as ever.

For some reason my friends and I left Call of Duty for a while. We started playing other games, but when the next game came out we went back to CoD. We all had pre-ordered Call of Duty: Black Ops. But this is where I started disliking the series. CoD was no longer a kick-ass game for me, but more a toxic places for young kids to scream and do trick-shots. The online experiences relied to much on individual plays rather than teamwork. But mainly the crowd shaped the game into something I couldn't identify with anymore.

I did pick up a game after the first Black Ops, but I guess the main reason I din't play/buy any of the games in between was due to my focus shifting off gaming for a couple of years.
Logan_Walker_CoDG.jpg
When I first started playing Ghost, I thought... Yea it's okay. But Call of Duty: Ghost never caught me the same way the older ones did.

Something I have admired about Call of Duty, is how the developer let's you get a feel for the final game by making the beta public for a few days. But when Call of Duty Advanced Warfare and Infinite Warfare was made public, I din't even bother trying them out. The jumping on walls, flying, base jumping.... I just thought to myself: "where did my childhood game go?" The shooting game I knew was made into "MLG 360 NO-SCOPE BLAZE IT" central. Fuck it, if people want it they can have it. Or so at least I thought.
maxresdefault (2).jpg

So when I saw the next game in the Call of Duty series is going back to it's WWII roots, I had mixed feelings for sure. Will it be any good? or will the game follow the footsteps of the last Call of Duty games?
Well So far the glimpses I have had through the open beta has been mostly positive. I mean this game is shaping up to be a great shooter with a solid online experience.(The beta was multiplayer only, I can't comment on the single player at all.)

My initial thought was... "hmm not bad"
This is usually good, I am very picky when it comes to games in general. If the game doesn't get my attention within a few minutes I don't bother.
But after 10-15 min or so I realized. Ohh this still is CoD... And yeah, I mean that in a negative way. The players was jumping around, doing weird stuff. Nobody cared about the objectives, I constantly got shot in my back, even though I just spawned. The game kept on annoying me, and even though I tried reminding my self of the first couple of Call of Duties, nope... I just started feeling I was wasting my time. Call of Duty: WWII wasn't fun after 30 minutes, or at least the beta wasn't.

1506369504_ss_3747dd3d113fef107d52eb062db8d3672d49ccac.1920x1080.jpg

Don't get me wrong this is a great game, it's just not a game for me.
The graphics is better than ever before. The different classes was diverse, and felt unique. The sound was on point as well. And the different modes was different enough to offer something special depending on which mode you choose.

So what was wrong?
The feeling, I can't describe it more precise. The Call of Duty feel I just not my cup of tea anymore. And I get it, don't buy/play a game you don't like, don't bitch/whine about CoD just because it is not the game you want it to be.
But, but... I just want CoD: WWII to be the game/series I fell in love with back in the day.

Thanks for reading, did you manage to check out the open beta?
Did you find the game differently than me?
I would love to hear from you in the comments, cheers!

Sort:  

Every game is super similar, so you got bored of it. That is why they should make something new, but it would be risk and they will not take it.

very interesting post, thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66306.00
ETH 3012.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70