Vegetable Garden Progress Update Week 6

in #garden6 years ago

Lots Of Setbacks

If you have been following my gardening journey then you are well aware that I have had many troubles this season so far. My biggest problem when I started was the fact that I am in limbo right now since we sold our home in March and we have been living in the basement of a family member since then. I am delighted to say, that is going to change soon! We found a house for a good price on 1/3 of an acre with a good sunny spot for my garden to go. We should be able to move in about 30 days from today so now I am working on getting everything in order and ready to go once we get there. There is already a nice sized garden all tilled up for me but surely I will need to add some amendments to the soil. And, if you have ever dealt with real estate then you know full well that nothing is certain until closing. But I feel really good about this one.

2 weeks into my seeding I had a problem with the cats eating my seedlings. That was very frustrating but I persisted through and just re-germinated some more seeds. Sadly I have less than what I was hoping for started but I will just have to adjust my game plan when we get to where we are going.

I had originally started out with about 50 pea plants and about 24 various pepper plants and tomato plants. I have lost many of the pepper and tomato plants due to cats and also because the wind blew over my seeding tray when I set them outside on a nice day, lesson learned. I had started 3 varieties of peas this year because I really enjoy them but 1 type of pea really grew much quicker than the others. I planted about 1/2 of my pea plants at my mothers house and most of the other half at my sisters house. My most recent post was of my planting at my mothers and I never documented my planting at my sisters but I will be sure to post photos later in the season when the peas take off. Also there will be pictures of all the raspberries we harvest later in the season, I can't wait!

What I Still Have Growing

So here are the peppers, tomatoes, and the remainder of the pea plants that I have going yet. Since we just got through the home inspection phase of the house that accepted our offer, I plan to get some more veggies going this week. This next back will probably be mostly beans, cucumbers, and a couple veggies that I have yet to determine yet... I imagine I will try my hand at squash.

My struggling peppers that got knocked over yesterday and replanted.

IMG_7834.JPG

A shot of my tomatoes that were started late due to cats eating first batch...

IMG_7836.JPG

The remainder of the tray of peas, peppers, and tomatoes. Can't wait for them to grow big!

IMG_7837.JPG

Once I get settled in at my new house I will do more documenting of my journey. Right now is the "boring" part where I just get to sit and wait for these guys to be ready to go outside. It's coming soon, but it seems so far away! Thank you for reading and follow me to join in the gardening journey this summer! The best part is the end, harvest!

Sort:  

You got a 16.67% upvote from @peace-bot courtesy of @coin-garden!

Help spread the peace. Want to promote your posts too? Send a minimum of .02 SBD or STEEM to @peace-bot with link in the memo for an upvote on your post. You can also delegate to the bot for daily passive earnings. If you would like to delegate to the Peace Bot you can do so by clicking on the following links:
50SP 100SP 250SP 500SP 1000SP 5000SP

Learn more!

Excellent attitude that you assume in front of the difficulties that you are going through, and it's good that you love agriculture so much. She will greatly gratify you!

Appreciate the kind words! I wish I got into gardening earlier in my life, it just feels like such a wonderful way to spend time and I love vegetables, especially organic ones!

You have been defended with a 6.54% upvote!
I was summoned by @coin-garden.

Congratulations @coin-garden! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @coin-garden! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

You just received a 10.10% upvote from @honestbot, courtesy of @coin-garden!
WaveSmall.gif

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

You got a 1.67% upvote from @moneymatchgaming courtesy of @coin-garden! Please consider upvoting this post to help support the MMG Competitive Gaming Community.

You got a 2.91% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @coin-garden!

Please upvote this comment to support the service.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93