You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alaskan Fall Harvest : Carrots and Potatoes

in #garden6 years ago

Nice tip on the potatoes! Where we live, it's a bit milder than Alaska, but we have slugs! They eat everything and I mean everything. I don't like to use slug bait as I always worry about the other animals eating it. I might try your method and see if it reduces the slugs ruining things. Thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

You’re welcome, I hope it works for you. 😊
I totally get the baits and poisons, it’s a chain reaction effect too. You kill something with said poison then something eats the dead thing and then they die and so on.
I really hope it works for you. Remember to drill holes at an angle, black spray paint on the outside and got to water supply stores for the jugs. They normally just throw away the jugs, why not give them a new life and save you some money on buying buckets.

Try using a small amount of beer in a low container to attract the slugs. It usually works pretty well and it seems to get rid of them. Something the size of a tuna can will do the job, about a third full of beer. You have to change it regularly, and if it gets rained in, of course.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64215.81
ETH 3150.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86