You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Take A tour Of The Walkerland Greenhouse

in #garden6 years ago

I just adore lemon verbena! I planted 4 in the herb garden on Friday.

I start rosemary from seed each year. Some years it does poorly, and some years it does well. This was a "well" year.

Did you know you can use nasturtium leaves in place of bread for sandwiches? They make an interesting sandwich....

Have the King of the North peppers performed well for you? I tried them for 2 - 3 years here and they didn't do well.

I love your greenhouse, even if it needs a lot of work. Greenhouse envy....

Sort:  

I love nasturtium. I eat a lot of it (lol). I use it in place of lettuce a lot but have never tried it in place of a bun. My husband would not be impressed but I love kale wraps where you use the kale to wrap the food. I have used them in stir fries, salads, smoothies, cakes, cookies, you name it. You can also pickle the seeds for a mock caper - I have not done that yet but will give it a try this year.

Yes, the King of the North peppers have grown well for us in past. Fingers crossed for this year too! :)

thanks! :) I really do feel lucky to have a greenhouse. I think it was the whole reason I wanted to move to this house. (haha).

Here's a bit of story for you:

When we bought this place (lo, those many decades ago) I was young and had had horses all my life. We bought this place because it had a wonderful barn and cleared land for pastures. But there was no house, but that wasn't important... There was a 105' x 30' barn big enough for 11 horses or more.

Now all these decades later, had it had a greenhouse....or 2....instead....

Farm.at.beginning.East.crop July.1983.jpg

This is what we bought, a cornfield with barn in back...

Beautiful! Such dreams to stand in a cornfield and imagine what will be. You've created a magnificent spot. Your farm is so beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63630.77
ETH 3179.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95