Garden update: Sweet potatoes

in #garden6 years ago

Hello world! It has been a while since I have posted anything. The garden is still going forward. Weather has been cooperating lately and its crazy that within one month we can go from ice storms to +25 deg Celsius. Today I'd like to share my attempt at growing sweet potatoes in my zone 5 garden. I am aware that they can be grown here but require warm temperatures and plenty of sunlight.

SAM_2452.JPG

There are 3 varieties here, not sure of the specific names but the first 2 (left to right) I picked up at the local market and are your regular run of the mill sweet potatoes/yams. These are the most commonly grown in North America. Healthy and oh so tasty. The 3rd one was labelled as "Cuban" sweet potato. It's white fleshed and is very sweet. 4th is a purple fleshed variety labelled as "Chinese" sweet potato. Has an earthy yet sweetness to it. The last 2 I am unsure as to whether they will grow here but they are interesting to look at.

SAM_2454.JPG

As you can see they readily produce roots in a jar of water. I basically used tooth picks to support them halfway submerged and after 2-3 weeks small roots began to emerge. Note, not all will root and may just begin to rot. Keep trying though! Oh and did I mention potatoes have a top and a bottom? You want them facing upright. Typically there is a notable root node/brown brown spot indicating the bottom. Although the 3rd one did grow upside down...

SAM_2459.JPG

When the top growth reaches 6-10 inches or so, I let them go crazy because I forgot. Break them off the potato and place the stems in a new jar of water. Roots will emerge after a couple days. At this point ^^ you can plant them in soil. I will do an update once it is warm enough for them to go outside. Thanks for stopping by!!

Sort:  

i missed teaching my students how to plant.. nice one..

It is a good skill to have. Thanks for stopping by!

Sweet! Yams and sweet potatoes are delicious! I don't know what it is about plants roots that freak me out, but they do. It's almost like they're an alien creature. I hope you do a follow up after you've planted them. -Aimee

Hah you're not the only person to say that! Especially when they are coming out of a potato. Like some alien is being born. For sure will do a follow up. Thanks for stopping in!

Congratulations @jamiesventures! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jamiesventures! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78