These DIY Bird Food Recipes Will Help The Birds In Your Garden To Survive Winter

in #garden5 years ago

During the long cold winter months, I'm trying to make sure the birds in my garden get enough to eat. I've collected some bird food recipes that are super-easy to make yourself.

diy bird food recipes.jpg
Source

Attracting Birds

If you want to attract birds to your garden to help you get rid of harmful insects during the gardening season, winter is a great time to start.

By providing food, water and shelter, you're turning your garden into a welcoming place for our feathered friends.

I had already spread some store-bought bird food balls in the garden, but for some reason, the birds seem to simply ignore them.


Since temperatures have dropped significantly this week - we even got the first snow of the season today - I started looking online for DIY bird food recipes. Maybe the birds in our garden have a different taste than other birds, who knows?

I also wanted to save a buck, because those prepared suet balls you buy in the store aren't as cheap as they should be.


DIY Recipes

Fortunately, you can find dozens of different recipes online.

I listed my favorites below. I'm definitely gonna try a couple of them out tomorrow.

Recipes:

As you will notice, most recipes contain some sort of fat. The birds need the calories in this fat to keep them warm during winter.

While I was browsing the web, I also found an article that contained some information on which fat you could, and which you shouldn't use.
I thought it was important enough to share it with you too.

the one thing you should never feed birds.jpg
Source

The one thing you should never feed to the birds in winter

One thing is sure: the birds in my garden aren't gonna be hungry these next couple of months...


logo.jpg

E14AD266-5856-47BC-B9E2-08A6E4FF413B.gif

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb


Sort:  

I mix lard with sunflower seeds and other seeds and smear it on the bark of trees for the woodpeckers. Simple but efficient: last winter I saw three different kind of wookpeckers, one of them I'd never seen before in the garden.

Hi @organicgardener!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.539 which ranks you at #16171 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 108 places in the last three days (old rank 16279).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 247 contributions, your post is ranked at #231.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58