Marshmallow Root From My Garden!

in #garden6 years ago


We ended up having to dig up one of my marshmallow plants to make room for a post in the garden and this is the first time I have been able see just how big those precious, medicinal roots have become. I have been using the leaves for the past few years allowing the roots to really develop and now I can start using those too in my teas and even for making the confectionery treat by the same name
IMG_3282.JPG

I got most of it dried up yesterday and packed into a quart jar. I will be finishing up the rest today.
IMG_3292.JPG

Marshmallow has so many wonderful benefits and I cover a few of them in this video here:


At some point I will be doing a video on how to make homemade marshmallows and I will be using some of my own homegrown organic marshmallow root in it.

Hope you all have a lovely week! ~Heidi

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

Oh my goodness, how fortunate you are!

Nice! Pretty cool to actually see one of these. I've got to add this to my garden and try to use them with the kids and of course other things. Thanks so much!

Awesome post @raincountry! I love learning about medicinal plant properties and this shines some light on the Marshmallow plant that I did know.

Cheers,
Robert
@underthekiltfarm

I was just reading about Marshmallow Root this morning! How funny. I love how the Father designed these plants so well--not just medicinal, not just tasty, and not just beautiful, but the whole package!

Seeing your lovely garden makes my heart yearn for when our land doesn't look so rocky and barren (it was not cared for for a few years before we bought it). Spring soon! And a garden soon.

Also, love seeing the muddy boot/skirt combination. My kinda style, haha!

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

Congratulations @raincountry! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73