The Wet Season Is Here And I Love ItsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden5 years ago (edited)

Gringo 👍 Thumb

I'm taking full advantage of the wet season weather here in equatorial Malaysia. Here I am soaked to the bone and loving it! Any relief from perpetual summer is most welcome..

Behind me you can see one of my sq. meter DWC beds (deep water culture) that I've allowed the formidable hollow stemmed kangkung king of the morning glory to take over. The leafy greens are perfect for a healthy stir fry, soup, or on their own with some garlic and oyster sauce.. "Sedap" as we say in Malaysia. "delish"

In the background is my medium based bed which has hydroton expanded clay pebbles which facilitates the conversion of my catfishes waste into fertilizer..Currently I have a massive dill situation, I've transplanted two larger dills into the ground garden I'm starting in the way background and will be seeding this space asap..

I've also got some eggplants, chives, brazilian spinach and mint growing in the aquaponics system..
Did I mention I chef shit up?
I whipped this up in the wok for lunch.

Simply chives, garlic, sesame seed oil, thick soy sauce, kangkung and orange squeezed in with some chilies.. It was lit!

Aquaponics is a sustainable and ancient agricultural practice that dates back to at least the classical Maya civilization. Perfect for my modern concrete jungle environment. Though being organic the pests do pester me but I feed them to my catfish that inhale delicacies such as the critter below. I know these punks as stink bugs and I loathe them!
stinker mom and caviar are now catfish shit

It's raining buckets here so I'm going to get dry and have some afternoon coffee, stay tuned to skramatters where you never know what I'll be cooking up.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

You had me at GRINGO THUMB
~RESPECT~

Awesome thanks @greenhouseradio I do love growing things 😜

Posted using Partiko Android

Plants should grow well with some good rain👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah the new seed starts will thrive and the aquaponics plants enjoy a break from the relentless sun, but the rain can actually kill off nutrients by lowering the ph..

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah the new seed starts will thrive and the aquaponics plants enjoy a break from the relentless sun, but the rain can actually kill off nutrients by lowering the ph.. Good old acid rain 😔

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes don't want to much rain.

Posted using Partiko Android

Here enjoy this awful not real country tune about rain..

Posted using Partiko Android

I will check it out when I get some spare time cheers 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

The garden is looking fantastic! We are also just getting into the rainy season and there is nothing I like more than going outside and washing the scooter in the rain.
Thais think if they get wet, they are going to automatically get ill and also that I am mentally ill for deliberately getting a soaking.
Have a great day, don't drink too much coffee and keep the edge ;-)

Thanks man!

I get the same "crazy white man" looks when I walk around lazily and without an umbrella in the rain.

The wet weather causes "flu" doesnt apply to us born of the land lands where it's mostly dreary with a chance of damp.

The other wives tale I enjoy is that ice, or specifically ice cream will cause flu?!

I learned how serious this was when bribing kids at the school with ice cream and then getting a host of complaints the next day how my treats made their kid sick. In my mind of course I was thinking its probably got more to do with germy, snotty, rug rats but sure no more ice cream. Now I use hot chocolate and biscuits which are always cookies to me.

"no those are biscuits" okay so what are cookies? And furthermore those fluffy things at KFC are called what? Damn Yankees

Judging by the length here I'm gonna venture to say I've had too much coffee 😂

Ice. Exactly same thing here lol

Posted using Partiko Android

I just had an icy cold smoothie whilst standing in the rain just because I'm extra like that 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Did I mention I chef shit up?
I whipped this up in the wok for lunch.

Superb!!

I will give you some poor man Vzlan recipes to try it right away. };)

I can’t wait to get into this ! I just posted dinner on IG and simply tagged #peasantpasta I know a thing or two about balling on a budget 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looks amazing :)

Thanks man, there's definitely some things I'd change in the design but it functions and more importantly there are no mosquitoes. That was my main concern.

Posted using Partiko Android

Didn't know you're also dwelling around the garden. Doing all the good stuff, eh?

I'm the quintessential Jack of all trades master of none! Or perhaps in the Asian cultures eyes I lack discipline 😃 but yes I'm all over the place...

Posted using Partiko Android

Kinda reminds me of myself :D

Why choose one when life is an all you can eat buffet of possibilities!

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree, but I think I have to pick one, and master it.

Congratulations @skramatters! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2750 replies. Your next target is to reach 3000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Your hydroton grow beds look great! I have always wanted to try aquaponics.

Thanks! You should give it a go it's a, rewarding challenge.. I'd start smaller if I could go back in time, ask me anything, I'm not a pro, but I've learned a lot and made a ton of mistakes..

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97