Cloning ProcesssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden6 years ago (edited)

Welcome back!
Today I will discuss my cloning process.
Cloning plants is a cheap and easy way to increase your number of plants as well as keep the genetics of a plant that you want.

The whole process basically consist of cutting off a portion of the plant you want to duplicate, applying root hormone or not, placing the cutting in soil, and covering with something that will hold humidity aroung the cutting.

I am using a 72 cell seed starter kit with a humidity dome over it.

First I select the plant I want to duplicate and choose a branch or limb that looks strong and has some what healthy leaves.

I then remove any fruit, flowers, and excess leaves to force the plant into survival mode. Encouraging it to produce roots.

I then dip the cut portion of the cutting in water. This does 2 things:

  1. It cleans the cutting.
  2. It wets the cutting so that the root hormone will stick to it.

Now I dip the bottom portion of the cutting in root hormone solution.
This is not a necessary step but some believe this increases the chances that your cutting will survive.

There are many different brands and types of root hormone you can use. Liquid or powder.

Now once the root hormone is on the bottom portion of the cutting I then push the cutting down into the soil and secure the soil around the cutting.

Now it is time to cover the cutting with the humidity dome and place in a warm area out of direct sunlight.
Remember your cuttings don't have roots so it has to intake moisture through its' leaves so something to keep moisture in the air around the cutting is critical.

I am not sure what my succes rate will be. So follow along as I will give updates either good or bad.
And if you're not following please check out my content and consider. 🤔🤔🤔
As always leave comments and questions down below. ⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇
Now go outside and make a great day! 🤗🤗🤗
@resteemhorizon

Sort:  

Very cool...thanks for sharing, makes me wanna work on my green thumb =) hehe..upvoted and following.

Glad you enjoyed! And I say yes give that green thumb a try! Lol
Thanks for stopping by and stay connected, an update is coming very soon!

One day I am going to attempt cloning. I've been reading more about it and want to expand my gardening skills.

Hey thanks for stopping by. But cloning isn't as hard as it seems. You always want to take more cuttings than you need because usually they don't all make it. Although I have had a few time where they all made it but not everytime. But if you have any questions just let me know. There is another method to do this that take a little longer but is almost 100% success.

interesting experiment! Thank you for sharing. Resteemed.

I really like the you have described why we should take every step. For example why we need humidity dome.

Thanks

Glad you found this useful, stick around as I have an update coming soon.

Great info! Thanks for sharing. I.look forward to the progress on your success.

Thank you for stopping by to 2 of my post and leaving comments. Please stay connected to see the results of my cloning Extravaganza. Lol

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

It looks like you have a good cloning system going there. I would think that using the rooting hormone would increase your success rate at least somewhat.

Wow you are too awesome for stopping by thank you. Yes the rooting hormone is "supposed" to help with success rate. Although I haven't done an experiment yet, I have experienced similar results without. You may have given me an idea... thanks😉

I used to use this method for cloning MMJ plants.. but then I built a aerocloner... 100% success rate after that..

Yes I built one many years ago but for some reason all of my cuttings root zone area would rot almost 100%. Not sure what was wrong but i may try again soon and see how it goes. Thank you for the input.

Add Clonex to the water and cut your clippings at a 45° ..

Genetics is a very interesting science. Her future. Someday people will learn to clone prehistoric animals. That would be interesting. Walking on the street, and is walking towards you mammoth. Or even better. Ride the tram and sitting next to the Pharaoh, who was cloned from his mummy. Wonders lie ahead of us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82