Gardeners, farmers, homesteader or anyone who is or wants to become self sustainable

in #gardeners6 years ago

Do you love gardening or farming? Have you wanted to become a gardener or farmer? Would you love to be self sufficient? Come on in and discuss with us what you currently do for gardening, farming or homesteading or what you want to do in the future.

My family and I own almost a full acre in a small town, our house sits on roughly 1/2 acre and our other 1/2 acre is basically our garden and fruit trees, bushes and vines... as you can see in this picture our garden is circled in white, it’s almost more sqft then our house

39145846-AF90-4202-9C12-C21C0FC745ED.jpeg

We do everything from kale, tomatoes, cucumbers, grape vines, blackberry’s, pumpkins, garlic, cauliflower, broccoli, hot peppers, sweet peppers, squash, spaghetti squash, zucchini and green beans and more, anything we don’t eat, can or freeze we give to our family friends and neighbors as you can see in this pic our wagon full of veggies

ECAEEBCE-A005-4C1B-AED1-DBF8D7F6B381.jpeg

Next year I will be setting up a 2000gal aquaponics system which will not only grow fruits and veggies for the family to eat but will also house fish that will be bred for eating, if you have never heard of aquaponics or seen what aquaponics is Check out this video of what it is

This video is not mine I do not take any credit for it, it’s only a video I have seen and got some good info from

In the near future I hope that we will have chickens and maybe some ducks, but not only do I need to convince my wife we should have this, I need to convince tommy towns board to allow us to have these. The town apparently doesn’t approve of “farm animals” and unfortunately for me one of my neighbors is on the board and she doesn’t approve of them at all 🙈

Are any of you fellow steemitians gardeners, homesteaders, farmers or self sufficient?? If so reply on here what you do!!

Sort:  

Cukes! My favorite of the healthy snacks. I make my own pickles also! Did you grow these?

Thanks for your lovely comment on my salad blog btw!

Gilaine

Family and I grew them, we r slowly gettin closer to being homesteaders

Welcome to steemit! If you are ever looking for a group, actually a community, of homesteaders/gardeners/self-sufficient like-minded people, I am the moderator of a group here... also the "un"official ambassador to the group.

let me know and I can post an invite link here for you!

I am a gardener and small homesteader. I have a herb garden full and working towards being self-sufficient.

That’s awesome, post the link I’m always lookin forward to learning more

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72