Sour dough starter and plants survived / みんな生きていてよかった!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

d0pd3oa1v9.jpg

I left my sour dough starter, seedlings and other plants without any maintenance for a week while I was in Tokyo.

For sour dough starter I was somehow confident that it survives as it's kept in fridge.

I worried the seedlings most. As they were planted in cell trays with little soil and had high chance that they run out of water. I transplanted few seedlings to larger pots so that I can reduce the risk of all the seedlings die.

The result was amazing. All of them survived :)

45qt7m8mjc.jpg

I watered plants and fed the starter. Starter worked fine. I baked a loaf with it.

How do you manage living stuff at home when you are away from home?


先週日本行きのため一週間家をあけるということで、植物をお友達にお願いしようか迷いつつ、出発前日になってしまいました(あるある!)。全滅してしまわないように一部だけセルトレイから大きめのプラスチックのポットに移して、無事を願いつつ家を出ました。

帰ってきてみると、なんと全部生き延びていました。もうひとつ心配だったサワードウのスターターも冷蔵庫で無事眠っていてくれました。

よかったよかった。4月は今のところ大きな外出の予定はなく、春夏の苗の世話して、もう少し種まきをしたいと思います。今年こそ食べ物ばかりではなく花の種もまきます ;)

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks esteemapp! I appreciate your support :)

Fortunately I have an appartment in the house where my sister lives - I have a plant-sitter and she has a plant and cat and guinea pig sitter (and in winter time a bird feeder). Though most of our indoor plants don't live in soil but in Seramis and don't need to be watered that often.

I'm going to start my tomatoes today, I will use Seramis for that, too. And my radishes outside in the balcony pot are showing their first leaves :)

You are privileged to have a talented multi maintainer :D My partner's mama is quite similar. She maintains kids as a Tagesmama, keeps a bunny for her friend, and many more :)

Toi toi toi for your tomatoes growth. I use Seramis for greens such as ivy and pothos. I've never tried veggies with it. I'm looking forward to reading how it works for your tomato plants.

That's the flower box I had outside over the winter - both chives and aquilegia survived. And if you look closely you can see some radishes ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11