You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Motorcycle chronicles: visiting the nursery

in #gardening6 years ago

Aloinopsis is gorgeous! <3 Excellent choice!

For mealybugs and red spider mites I'm using insecticide/acaricide based on permethrine: 'green' Biokill, that I can find in vet or agricultural pharmacy stores, even in DM. I do knot know if you can purchase something like that in your country, but i found it as best first aid for plants.

Sort:  

I do prefer those but I have a serious problem: I grow most of my succulents outside and what I noticed is that the ants are digging tunnels inside my plant pots. From there, they expose the plant roots and bring root mealiebugs in to suck on the roots and damage the plants. The only way I am going to be able to control that is with a systemic insecticide because I can't keep disturbing the roots or drenching the soil with insecticide.

I was very pleased to find that Alionopsis and of course I saw a Pachypodium Saundersii that I'm thinking about

P. saundersii is my wish too.

Oh, the ants and the bugs together in co-operation... yes that is a problem. You just have to kill them both or they will kill the plants. No other way. You can succeed, but have to be careful always, that they don't come back again.

I just have problems with one species of wasps, that are digging holes in every !!! pot, making small nests. They won't harm plants, but are making huge mess, throwing the soil around...

I went and got the P. Saundersii, I couldn't help myself.
Are the wasps the kind that hunt spiders?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63816.85
ETH 3134.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86