Preparation is One Key to Success In Garden

in #gardening5 years ago

image

Homemade power dirt I made by combining peat moss, mushroom compost, leaf compost, composted manure, and perlite mixed up well.

I had the help of my amazing woman @kelsnm with doing some of the hard labor.. (she wants the exercise).. as she ripped up all the old beds along the fence with the new hoe my mother @duffylover had gotten me for a gift.

We went along the fence line and pool side, removing all the early weeds and turning over the soil, before adding the appropriate amount of “power dirt” into the fold. Then do another touch over with the dirt rake and pop some seeds in the brown and wait.

I Iike to plant in numbers so I just take a hand full of lettuce seeds and sprinkle them liberally all over. Broadcast seeding I call it. I did that for the beds by the pool. The fence line beds will be for the peppers.

We also went around and dressed the perennial plants with a little bit of power dirt at the bases. Can’t wait to see success.

image

The little man James enjoying more fresh air in his Tripod mobile castle. The netting was a nice snag at a store one day, keep all the nasty bugs away from our little vulnerable man.

He is a big fan of the outdoors, I’m happy by that.

image

image

Great form my love, @kelsnm. Working those beds.

We also refurbed all the existing dirt in the containers with the power dirt. I guess, only time will tell, to see if my power dirt really does work.

image

Over at the dump property today, we spotted this wild growing flower cluster, in the center of the grassy yard. A pioneer. A lone renegade in a sea of green.

image

Spring is certainly here. One more cold snap this week and then another cold snap it appears later in the month, but with no fear of frost I went and planted a whole load of plants today.

One thing I’m excited for this summer again... home made pickles. And now I can add home grown garlic (@funnyfarm77) to the mix with the cucumbers and dill I grow already.

I really don’t ever see myself not gardening again. I laugh when I think to myself why I never got into it before but whatever, here I am now and I won’t ever go back.

And this second year into growing, I’m going to make it so cool that all the friends are going to start their own. Iv inspired a few already, I bet I can make more. I’m just so so grateful for the opportunity to do so. And because of that fact, I will PREPARE to do my best this season. Not wasting this opportunity.

Take care y’all!

I pray to Heavenly Father.

Sort:  

Sounds like a great mixture of compost for the soil, I'm sure it will bring some nutrients to the beds and produce lovely crop!

That’s the plan! Up to nature now!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It looks like a nice gardening day with family!

That purple flower looks like a crocus to me! My crocuses are barely out from under the snow, and I hope they decide to bloom in the near future.

Thank you for identifying that flower! Without a field guide I am a bit useless yet still.. but I will remember this!

Sounds to me your a bit further north of my latitude. Hope you see some warm temps come soon!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @biffybirdcam!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.027 which ranks you at #10677 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 710 places in the last three days (old rank 11387).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 227 contributions, your post is ranked at #180.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98