Lily Pads, Rhododendrons and Ducks Today

in #gardening6 years ago

better_5339.jpg
The white lily pads are blooming at Levy Pond and the mother and baby Mallards seemed to enjoy feeding amongst them. I have fond memories of these white lily pads, as they were the aquatic flower in the pond where I spent summers as a child in Maine.

Birding today was just a couple of quick stops on my way to Costco to pick up my new glasses. I was pretty happy at my recent eye doctor appointment to hear that a change in my prescription should improve my vision quite a lot, as I was thinking my vision was getting worse. My first stop was at at wetlands area we call Sha Dax, a native American name, in hopes of a first-of-the-year Pierce County Cedar Waxwing. No luck on that, so I next stopped at one of my favorite little spots, Levy Pond. It is very easy to access and a stop that can be very good for shorebirds in fall, and waterfowl in winter. Right now it's more just a nice place for a short walk and to look at common ducks and flowers.

DSC_5341 (1).jpg
Gadwall are an elegant duck IMHO

DSC_5343.jpg
Most of the non-breeding dabbling ducks have left for their breeding grounds, but this lone male American Wigeon seems to be lagging behind.

IMG_0360.jpg
Wild roses are just coming into bloom all around the pond, making the walk more pleasing.

IMG_0361.jpg
In a field next to the pond is a community garden that is heavily used. It is just starting to be planted this year, but the plots are marked and it's ready.

DSC_5347 (1).jpg
Purple Martins in the western U.S. don't usually use "Martin Hotels" like they do on the east coast. I was surprised to see martins perched on top of this hotel on a pole in a field at a distance from Levy Pond, so walked for a closer look.

DSC_5350.jpg
DECOYS! The joke was on me as they were really plastic decoys to try to attract Purple Martins to nest there. No luck it appears. I doubt any will come as they tend not to nest in adjoining nest boxes like in the eastern U.S.

IMG_0362.jpg
At this time of year in the Puget Sound area Rhododendrons are in full bloom. I couldn't resist including a quick iPhone photo of one of the more common varieties here.

This afternoon I'm going to look for a Blue Jay, a common species throughout the eastern U.S., but quite uncommon in our area. One was reported yesterday In Gig Harbor. Wish me luck.

Good birding. Steem on!

Sort:  

excellent pictures and beautiful landscapes and birds that show the magnificence that life and nature

Hello, I'm new, I hope you follow me as I did, and then you look at my blog, excellent work, it continues, blessings.

Congratulation birdbanter! Your post has appeared on the hot page after 70min with 47 votes.

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

appreciator upvote in the amount of $56.94 STU, $79.59 USD.
smartsteem upvote in the amount of $56.77 STU, $79.35 USD.

For a total calculated value of $114 STU, $159 USD before curation, with a calculated curation of $28 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62947.22
ETH 3174.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81