Gardening Progress Update + First Camping Trip Of The Year - Peas In The Ground!

in #gardening6 years ago

Campfires + Gardening = A Wonderful Weekend!

IMG_7817.JPG
It has been a long and hard winter up here so I was more than excited to finally get some stuff planted. As many of you may know if you were following my gardening journey, I am currently in between homes and I don't really have a designated place to garden fully right now so I will have my vegetables split between a couple houses that my family owns in the area since I don't have my own yard right now. It's kind of a pain, but in the end I believe the harvest of organic food will be worth the trouble!

IMG_7828[1].jpg

Chickens supervising me planting peas.

Little did these chickens know that their poo-poo was going to become plant food for me! Muahaha. My mother owns about a dozen chickens. Right now they are in the chicken coop because my pitbull was running around and she really enjoys harassing the chickens. My mother has a nice sized garden and allowed me to plant about 24 of my pea plants there. She already had the sticks setup for trellising beans the season earlier so it worked out wonderfully.
IMG_7829[1].jpg
It may not look like much, but these peas have grown to about 18 inches in just a couple weeks. I have planted 3 different kinds to sprout but these were by far the most vigorous variety so that's what I put in the ground here. The pictures may be a couple weeks out, but I will be sure to update you guys on their progress throughout the year, especially the best part, the harvest! Oh I can't wait!

Chives are coming through nice and early!

IMG_7830[1].jpg
I love chives, they go great with just about anything in my opinion but that is coming from someone who really appreciates all that onions have to offer the culinary world. I have to admit, I chopped on a couple of these guys this weekend and added them to my eggs that we cooked on the fire, it was refreshing.

Our First Camping Trip Was A Success!

I was a little bit worried about the kids not being warm enough when I decided that we were going to be tenting this weekend. We actually had went out last weekend as well but this far north it was still below freezing at night and although I really sleep well with the cool spring air, I didn't want the kids to get sick sleeping out in the cold. So we opted out of camping last week and slept in the loft of my mothers garage instead with a space heater for the sake of the kiddos. But this weekend we got out and got to really enjoy the woods and the water a bit. I didn't get any pictures of the forest and the water, but I did snap some shots of the cool, color changing fire we had. We found some old Christmas likes that we set up around our campsite last year. They were not working properly anymore so we decided to cut them up and toss them in the fire. The kids really enjoy it and personally so do I. Science is an amazing thing and no matter how many times you have seen it, bright blue flames are just awesome!
IMG_7815.JPG


IMG_7816.JPG


IMG_7818.JPG

Camping is one of our favorite family activities and I am fortunate enough to have family that also really enjoys it. I will be documenting many of our adventures this summer. If you enjoy this kind of stuff please follow my journey! Thank you for reading and have yourself a wonderful day!

Sort:  

Great post .. good
Wonderful recipe .. Healthy food! good for you
Thanks for sharing this with us..

I look forward to seeing how your garden develops! Moving between locations will keep you busy but I could garden all day every day and be totally content. ☺️ Mine is still pretty small and undeveloped too right now, we've had such strange back and forth weather this year. Ready for long hot summer days to jump start all these veggies!

You got a 21.43% upvote from @th3voter thanks to: @coin-garden!


kitten fighting :)
Image Source cloudinary.com


This post has upvoted from @th3voter !For more information, click here!

You can earn daily profit by delegating SP to our bot, 98% of earnings paid out to delegators. To do so, click below:
30SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP, 10000SP,
Custom Amount
Make sure you have at least 15 SP left on your account.

I enjoyed your post and look forward to following your journey this summer.

Great camping trip, want to take part in the event, hehe

You just received a 25.00% lifting from @botox ! You can also earn by making delegation to @botox.
Tu viens de recevoir un lifting de 25.00% de la part de @botox ! Tu peux également être récompensé en faisant de la délegation à @botox.

Interesting project! Goog luck!!

You got a 11.76% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @coin-garden!

In the fight of Humans vs Bots, @megabot defended you with 6.99% upvote courtesy of @coin-garden!

Support @Megabot by delegating SP to the bot and get a part of 98% of @Megabot's profit.

Direct delegation links : 10 SP || 50 SP || 100 SP || 500 SP || 1000 SP || Any other amount of SP

Join our discord group here.

Thank You !

You got a 25.00% upvote from @stef courtesy of @coin-garden!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99