Winter Ghost Peppers In 'Mini Terrariums".

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone, I have always been a chilli fan, the hotter the better, well almost and until my most recent seed procurement of Ghost Peppers as well as Carolina Reapers, The Worlds HOTTEST PEPPERS. It is said that folks have eaten these fruit and died, I do not plan to do that or recommend you do either, diluted in a nice chilli sauce however I shall certainly try.

20190803_150304.jpg

I have really been nurturing these plants through winter and just recently decided to give it a try and plant three of them in the garden 3 weeks before Spring, with a catch. Cover them at night with a home made 'terrarium' to prevent the nightly frost destroying them, so far so good, they have really done well the last week doubling in size, it would seem they even enjoy the humidity which surprises me!

20190802_133849.jpg

I planted these Chilli's in the middle of the row with Green Pepper's, I have around 8 of these in this row and they are looking really sorry as we are just coming out of Winter. I am rather happily surprised that they are still alive normally the frost totally kills them off in Winter, apparently it was not that cold this time around!

20190803_150311.jpg

I planted the seeds for these in the middle of winter. I put them in the sun in the day and behind my fridge at night to absorb the heat and assist with germination. It took around 2 weeks but germinated they certainly did to my surprise, a pleasant one at that!

20190803_150314.jpg

I put rocks on these cups at night to prevent wind blowing them off as well as to render a little early morning shade to prevent them getting too hot during the day, which too can kill or set them back. I take these off at around 10 am and then put them back in the evening around 5 pm.

20190803_150259.jpg

With my Chilli Winter germination I also germinated some Sweet Basil one of my most favourite herbs. I have not covered these at night but I think we will get lucky as I feel the frost for this Winter is done, possibly we have one last cold front in which case I will cover these too at night. My plan is to make some delicious Basil Pesto when these mature and with the Chilli's some incredible 'Hot As Hell' Chilli sauce. I can't wait.

20190802_133833.jpg

I trust you have a super cool week further and with Bitcoin breaching 12k why not?

Cheer$;)

Sort:  

You're so smoking hot that I guess you don't need my vote because your dedicated bots that are so grateful for your informative posts do all your voting hahahahahaha

Pftttt gmfff .. with sisters like you who needs enemies :p Hot like a Carolina Reaper eh? heheh grrrrr

YEAH!! And that is why you love me and can't wait to pick up you phone every day

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

I really should look at getting my pepper seeds going as we head towards spring. This is a great idea to protect them from the cold weather.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Thanks a ton yes an early start a great idea I think ;)

Congratulations @craigcryptoking! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 210000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @craigcryptoking!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.901 which ranks you at #4473 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 4478).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #128.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97