Full Vegetable and Fruit Garden Tour in April [Gardening]

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

20190405_124530.jpg

Often I get requests to show photos of my backyard gardening projects. To kick things off, I thought I would show my small seedlings. Many things are being moved outdoors now that the danger of frost is gone, but it is still very cold and wet at night, so extra protection of the elements is necessary even for the cold weather crops.

Everything in this tray was started indoors over a warm floor vent where the heat enters my room. As soon as first leaves appeared, everything was allowed to develop outdoors under a plastic dome. Recently I sprinkled extra soil around all the seedlings because the stems were getting tall and weak. Now they are starting to perk back up thanks to the added warmth and moisture around the stems and roots.

20190405_124537.jpg

On the right side I have Bibb #lettuce, and Romaine lettuce. On the left side I am growing four kinds of flowers: #Sweet-William, #Alyssum, #Morning-Glory, and #Marigold.

20190330_135238.jpg

The Morning Glories all died except for a tiny one, because they grew too fast and the stems bent over and broke. It was also an usually warm day, and the vapor inside probably steamed them. Lesson learned, Morning Glory need extra soil piled around the first inch or two of the stems as they grow taller, or else they will break.

Below I have some sweet peas planted into pure compost. They were kept under a black plastic cup to help maintain some warmth and moisture. I thought they had rotted, but after three weeks they have started to emerge. The leaves are yellow because they were kept in the dark. Today they are starting to green up and show new leaf buds.

20190408_142531.jpg

Indoors I have a ton of warm weather plants: sugar #pumpkin, #tomato, #peppers, #melon, and even #apple trees grown from seed.

20190405_122216.jpg

Something weird is going on with my tomatoes, because the leaves are curling in from the sides. I think they need bigger pots and soil piled around the stems, because they look like they are drying out even though the soil is moist.

20190405_121922.jpg

My smallest tomato fits under a plastic cup, which is helping the leaves to plump up by absorbing humidity from the air. The air indoors becomes very dry when the heater is on.

20190405_122047.jpg

#Cabbage and #brussels-sprouts were recently introduced into the garden from seedlings.

20190405_121830.jpg

They recently popped with mature looking leaves spreading out, and they looked like they were ready to expand vertically too. I took this as a good sign that maybe they can win the war against the slugs if their root systems are strong enough. With my soil mix, the roots look like they are spreading out well in all directions.

20190405_123410.jpg

In my lower garden bed, I'm growing a bundle of various companion plants designed to assist the brassica varieties. #Onions, #sage, #chives, #cilantro, #anise and other smelly herbs are going to help ward off aphids. Last year's daikon #radish is being allowed to remain in the center, along with the surrounding #arugula, although I have trimmed them down to size so everything can fit underneath milk jug domes. This seems to be helping the direct-sown seeds to take root without interference from birds, insects, and squirrels.

20190405_123543.jpg

But nothing seems to stop the slugs. I found one really juicy looking slug feasting on the cabbage leaves, so I flung him into the compost pile. All I need is one dry sunny day, and I think many of these plants will shoot like rockets, and the heat will make the slugs run for cover.

20190411_103536.jpg

Nothing but rain is the forecast for now.

IMG_20190322_172300.jpg

This old egg carton I found in the recycling bin. Here I planted #peas, #nasturtium, morning glory, and beans. So far this is a failed experiment after three weeks. The soil is pure compost, and I have had this covered with a plastic tray since day one to hold in warmth from the sun and humidity. I think it's just too cold and wet outside. A lighter seedling mix and some indoor warmth would have germinated the seeds much faster I think. I really thought these types of plants would germinate in the cool temperatures, and I was hoping if they did, then I could avoid the hassle of having to harden them off, and bring them back inside every night. I'll give them a couple more weeks and then consider starting over.

20190408_110917.jpg

Nearby in my shade garden, #radishes are sprouting. Last year's #garlic is looking resistant to the cold and slugs. I can't seem to get the direct sown #carrots and #turnips to grow here, because they get eaten up as soon as they sprout. That's what tends to happen during the rain season.

Most of all, I am very satisfied that the #turnip transplants I grew from seed seem to be growing stronger. At first they were nibbled on by the slugs, but now I can see the stem are fattening up into those purple roots that will become the vegetable, and sharp hairy leaves are quickly sprouting. Slugs do not like sharp leaves.

20190408_110925.jpg

Last year's #onions and #chives were planted here in the mucky soil next to my grape vine. They are growing tall green new shoots. The ants and ahpids are running for the hills, trying to escape their stinky scent.

20190405_124157.jpg

Along the fence, I recently added a layer of mushroom compost, and planted some bare-root strawberries. This variety is called Ozark Beauties.

20190411_105102.jpg

The strawberries began popping open with leaves insteantly in this richly amended soil. The bare roots are happily enjoying this mucky soil area. The radishes are also sprouting without much interference.

Somewhere under the dirt are #beans, #corn, #carrot, #marigold, #morning-glory, #sunflower, and #nasturtium seeds I planted a week ago. I do not see any signs of them germinating. This area is meant to be a companion planting area to boost corn and pumpkins.

20190411_105108.jpg

In my upper garden beds, I'm allowing everything to go to seed.

20190404_115428.jpg

#Arugula, brussels-sprouts, #parsley, and daikon radish are the survivors of winter, and now they are looking like they are going to invade and colonize the rest of the yard.

20190411_104534.jpg

Behind the beds is a row of wildflowers that survived winter. Hopefully this year I'll get to see them make flowers for summer. Wildflowers planted in summer usually do not form flowers the first year.

20190404_115402.jpg

This area will be chopped down to make room new things coming it. It will become the summer home for my tomatoes and and peppers.

20190404_115416.jpg

From the beds pictured above, I recently dug out most of the parsley, and transplanted them into my front yard area near a spot where I plan to grow carrots. They are supposed to be good companions for helping carrots grow.

I did not dig super deep holes, just a long trench, and I laid the long parsley roots in sideways. At first, the shocked leaves on top made it look like the entire plants would be goners, and they were quickly devoured as slug snacks. Within a few tags the fat parsley roots pushed out new shoots, and these leaves look perky and green. The pungent aroma is chasing away nasty bugs.

20190411_110451.jpg

Under the plastic, I am still nurturing the ground to protect carrot seedlings. I check underneath every week or so, and it's not looking very promising. A few are sprouting here and there, but there should be dozens and dozens. Slugs are finding it no problem to slide underneath and I think that is the reason I am having difficulty. Maybe adding a little bit of diatomaceous earth will help form another protection barrier. If just a few of these carrot seeds take root, I think that will be a good sign that the soil is ready to germinate another round of carrot seeds.

20190411_105743.jpg

Not far away, the strawberries from last year are doubling and tripling in size. I grow Ft. Laramie and Hood strawberries here. Flowerheads are starting to appear in bud form.

20190411_105746.jpg

The most exciting thing growing in my yard right now is this shrub with needle-sharp thorns nearly invisible to the eye

20190411_105730.jpg

The sweet nectar flower will become green #gooseberries. The entire shrub is loaded with hundreds of flowers at every possible location. This is a native plant capable of providing food for all animals. The fruit is supposed to be very tasty and sweet for humans too, but for four years the animals have never left any for me to try. I could try tying a plastic bag on one branch this year, and see if that saves me a few. It also attracts caterpillars that will eat the Spring leaves, and these crawlers will become beautiful butterflies.

20190409_094419.jpg

Normally, I don't have time to stop and look at my dinky #thyme shrub. It spends most of winter inert, and hang onto old leaves instead of pushing out any new growth.

20190411_105554.jpg

Today it suddenly burst with new minty green leaves, and I had to snag a photo. One thing I do like about growing thyme is that is can withstand all insects and diseases, and it forms these long meandering branches, like a tumbleweed. I can prune it as much as I want, and it always grows back. It makes a decent bonsai as far as edible plants go, except the branches will probably never thicken up.

20190411_105605.jpg

Something weird found on the grass. Looks like some sort of bug wrapped in a #cocoon. I'm sure a hungry bird will happily take care of it for me.

20190404_115927.jpg

I would rather keep interesting bees like this one around though.

20190404_112704.jpg

#Bleeding-hearts are a type of #fuschia. It will develop red, white, or purple flowers in the shape of heart-shaped jewelry.

20190404_115222.jpg

I really like this no-fuss flower that re-appears every year in my flower pots. It's starting to pop up in the center here between the #yarrow and the #snapdragons.

20190405_124326.jpg

Yarrow is such a wonderful flower. I grow them in big clumps. They always look super healthy, even though they live in the worst clay soil that becomes bone dry in summer. The leaves are incredibly soft, and useful as a healing herb on the skin if you get a wound or cut. Best of all is the wonderful array of beneficial insects it attracts when the white platters of tiny flowers bloom all summer.

20190405_124308.jpg

This is my #rosemary bush. I'm going to try taking cuttings from it this year, and see if they take root in my grow bed next to the brussels sprouts. This is another good herb that can be made into bonsai. The leaves have a sweet and savory pine scent. I think rosemary tastes really good with lemon on meats.

20190405_124419.jpg

#Lavender is another fragrant herb that does fabulously well in a small container. I suppose it could also be made into a bonsai tree. It back-buds very easily, overloaded with shoots. I keep it near my trees that suffer from insect infestations. Even slugs hate touching this plant!

My mother was asking how I keep it looking so good, while her lavender planted in the ground looks tired and almost dead. The secret is pruning and pinching off all of the dead and sick parts after winter. Otherwise, it will harbor disease that might spread to the new buds. The new buds are also looking for sunlight, and they cannot find it if the old dying growth is in the way.

20190411_105806.jpg

In the front yard, the one of my dwarf apple trees is pushing out leaves. No signs of aphids anywhere is a really good sign. I think this is because I cleaned the wood really well using a solution of water and baking soda. This branch is actually part of the root-stock, and the grafted wood above is still dormant. I am allowing this branch to grow so that it can be grafted next year to support a new apple variety.

20190411_104412.jpg

I'll end my garden tour with this beauty. This one was a pre-existing plant in the yard when we first moved here. It is called #bergenia. This variety has green leaves that turn red and brown.

20190411_104407.jpg

#vegetables #fruit #fruit-trees #edible-plants #herbs #naturalmedicine #april #bonsai

Sort:  

Ah, what an amaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaazing Spring is a'coming post!! YOu ahve SOOOOOOOOOOOO much going on and so many plants ready to throw in the warming ground for spring and summer delights. I dont know what is going on with the tomatoes, tag me if you find out - I had two grown plants do that and I couldn't for the life of me figure out why.

@riverflows, I think I found out the reason for indoor tomato leaves curling up and falling off. It is a classic case of over-watering.

Yes, there is always somebody on youtube who magically seems to have an answer for all of life's problems. As I understand, the small pot for indoor plants often means the roots cannot grow fast enough to keep up with the unrestricted growth of the foliage. The tomato will actually curl the leaves to block sunlight, and so it is okay to move the plant to a low-light area and stop watering until the soil dries out completely. This allows it to de-stress a bit.

New healthy growth has sprung out to replace the curled leaves. I noticed some tomato varieties are more susceptible to this problem than others. Beefsteak is the hardest one for me. Even in the summertime, I think it prefers a warmer, dryer climate than the rainy climate where I live, because it constantly gets stunted growth when stressed out after I water my beds.

Ah, thanks for checking back in!!!! They were in wicking beds, so maybe DID get too much water.. and maybe it was just the variety as another one did just fine next to it! Will monitor next season. Thanks so much for answering!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wonderful tour of your gardens. :)) I have slug issues here too.

Nice variety in the garden mate! Certainly keeps your hands full and busy. Looks great what you’re doing

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a great garden you have made for yourself.

A great mix of vegetables I and herbs 🌿 and flowers i
Keep us updated on how things go.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84