MY SHOCKING LITTLE DAISY

in #gardening6 years ago

Each year I love to experiment with a few different plants, whether in the vegetable garden, flowers, or herbs. One new discovery I made last year was a pretty little herb (spilanthes oleracea) with many different nicknames such as, electric daisy, toothache plant, buzz buttons, to name a few. I tend to call it electric daisy. It was an attractive addition to my garden. These cute little edible plants grew into yellow daisy like flowers without the daisy pedals. They were a great conversation piece when we had guests over.
This flower is said to show anti-inflammatory, antibacterial, antifungal properties and is a sialagogue helping with digestion. Another property it contains is spilanthol which acts as an anaesthetic/analgesic when eaten. The effects of eating this flower need to be experienced because it is very difficult to describe. First of all I thought this only tastes a bit like grass and a hint of citrus then a tingly sensation started all inside my mouth. It was an odd kind of cool feeling. It took about 15 minutes before it wore off and the feeling of my mouth being frozen passed.
I have several more plants started from the seeds I collected last fall. I have extra that I would be happy share if anyone is interested in growing some this summer. I planted some of last years seeds 2 weeks ago in the house and they are beginning to pop up. I wanted to be sure the seeds would produce before giving any away.
Another week and I hope to get everything moved to the greenhouse till June when they can be planted into the ground. I think the snow if pretty much gone here now so just need things to warm up. Getting anxious!!!

20180422_110511.jpg

Sort:  

You really got greenthumbs and I must say that I found your tomato story very good that I would have to try it myself.... Welcome to Steemit, I see that you just have started in the platform... You will like it here, there are many wonderful steemians who are homesteaders to know their stories... I live in the city so I just do urban homesteading like I plant my veggies upstairs to avoid slugs in my garden. I do container planting a lot...Upvoted, followed and resteemed.

Thank you, I love to garden and I am really excited to be part of the steemit platform. I really don't know too much about it but I'm sure it will all eventually make sense. Thanks again for the advice.

Ask me if you have questions about steemit, I might be able to help you. I am helping out newbies and I have a FB Group called Steemit Powerupph (the group is meant for Filipino steemians who are just starting on steemit and we mentor them. Have a look, it´s for free. https://www.facebook.com/groups/steemitpowerupph/

Oh by the way, just a small tip.... to get noticed on steemit , make plenty of photos of your container garden giving more a longer description.. @curie might notice you and curate your post. I was once curied with my content on cherry tomatoes when I was just starting on steemit, just to give you an idea here is that post:
https://steemit.com/food/@mers/let-s-make-antipasti-roasted-garlic-and-cherry-tomatoes-recipe

That is true about lots of pictures, I will try to post more. Thanks Again!!

Congratulations @doucettedev! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67