TOMATOES.... TOMATOES....TOMATOES

in #gardening6 years ago

This is my favorite tomato story from a few years ago. I read an article stating that if you sliced a tomato in 3 or 4 slices about the size you would put on a sandwich put them in a pot of soil, then cover lightly with soil, water enough to keep it moist and it would produce 30 to 50 plants. I felt this was likely a bit of an over exaggerated outcome but off I went to purchase a nice ripe beefsteak tomato, thinking maybe I might get 8 to 10 plants if any at all. I'm here to say it worked. All 300 plants, once they were large enough (a couple inches high) I transplanted to their own pots, I kept about 30 for my garden and some I kept in larger pots on my deck, and gave the rest to family, friends, neighbours, co-workers, anyone I could give them to. The plants produced lots of great tomatoes. I have done it since then but usually only use one tomato and get plenty of plants.

Sort:  

It's a great story! plants are amazing. Thanks for sharing ;)

Thank you tressareid. They sure are.

Congratulations @doucettedev! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72